No no-hitters in 10-plus years for these teams

May 11th, 2024

With a combined no-hitter authored by the Brewers' Corbin Burnes and Josh Hader on Sept. 11, 2021, another long drought (the second-longest at 34 years, in fact) finally came to an end. It was just the latest in snapped streaks in 2021 -- when Joe Musgrove threw a no-hitter for the Padres on April 9, that meant they no longer owned the longest active drought without one, and Tyler Gilbert's historic no-no on Aug. 14 broke an 11-year drought for Arizona. In 2022, the Cardinals nearly snapped their 21-year drought with Miles Mikolas' heartbreaking 8 2/3 no-hit innings coming just short.

Here then is a look at every team that still has a 10-plus-season drought without a no-hitter entering 2024 -- that is, teams whose most recent no-hitter was in 2013 or before.

Twins: Francisco Liriano, May 3, 2011 at CWS

Liriano's no-hitter wasn't pretty, but it got the job done, as the lefty walked six in a 1-0 win. It was the first shutout of his career and got it done despite entering the game with an ERA over 9.00. The Twins have a knack for slipping into no-hitter droughts, as of their seven in franchise history, four came off the heels of at least a decade long dry spell.

Rays: Matt Garza, July 26, 2010 vs. DET

Garza’s no-hitter is the only one in Rays franchise history. He kept the Tigers off the board on a Monday night in July at Tropicana Field, holding even Miguel Cabrera hitless. Garza’s only baserunner was Brennan Boesch, on a walk. The losing pitcher in this one went on to throw two no-hitters of his own, in 2015: Max Scherzer.

Rockies: Ubaldo Jiménez, April 17, 2010 at ATL

2010 was a big year for teams getting their first no-hitters, with the Rays, as noted above, and the Rockies, with Jiménez’s effort. Jiménez’s no-hitter was the first of six in the 2010 regular season and postseason.

Red Sox: Jon Lester, May 19, 2008 vs. KC

From 2001-08, the Red Sox racked up four no-hitters, but they haven’t had one since. Lester was just 24 years old, in what would be the first full season of his Major League career after partial stints in 2006-07, and he had beaten cancer just two years prior.

Cardinals: Bud Smith, Sept. 3, 2001 at SD

The Cardinals had two no-hitters in a three-year span between Jose Jimenez’s in 1999 and Smith’s in ‘01, but haven’t had one since. There were three no-hitters thrown in 2001, and two of them were against the Padres in San Diego.

Pirates: Francisco Cordova and Ricardo Rincon, July 12, 1997 vs. HOU

Cordova and Rincon combined not just for nine no-hit innings, but 10 total. Both teams were scoreless heading to the bottom of the 10th, when John Hudek walked two batters before allowing a walk-off homer to Mark Smith which also served to seal the no-hitter.

Rangers: Kenny Rogers, July 28, 1994 vs. CAL

Rogers’ perfect game was the third no-hitter for the Rangers since the start of the 1990 season, with the other two thrown by Nolan Ryan. It was one of four perfect games in the 1990s, the second-most in any decade behind the 2010s (five).

Braves: Kent Mercker, April 8, 1994 at LAD
This one feels particularly hard to believe, given the Braves’ rich pitching history, especially in the 1990s, but Mercker’s early-April no-no in 1994 is the last for the club. The only other no-hitter for the Braves in the '90s, prior to this one, was also started by Mercker, but was a combined effort with Mark Wohlers and Alejandro Pena in 1991.

Royals: Bret Saberhagen, Aug. 26, 1991 vs. CWS
The only no-hitter of Saberhagen’s career was the fourth in Royals franchise history. The team threw three from 1973-77, but did not register another until Saberhagen’s in 1991. His was one of five no-hitters in ‘91, including a perfect game.

Blue Jays: Dave Stieb, Sept. 2, 1990 at CLE
Stieb’s no-hitter is the only one in Blue Jays franchise history. It was the final no-hitter of the 1990 season, which featured six no-hitters, after there had not been one in 1989.

Guardians: Len Barker, May 15, 1981 vs. TOR
Barker’s perfect game is the last no-hitter for the Guardians, a franchise that also currently owns the longest active World Series title drought. Despite a plethora of Cy Young winners, including five awards since 2007, most in MLB in that span, the team has yet to produce a no-hitter since this one in May 1981.