Umpires for 2018 World Series announced

October 22nd, 2018

Major League Baseball announced on Monday the umpires who have been assigned to the 2018 World Series, which is presented by YouTube TV. Ted Barrett, who is in his 21st season as a Major League Umpire, will work the Fall Classic for the fourth time, including his first as crew chief.
Barrett, who was the crew chief for this Postseason's National League Division Series between the Milwaukee Brewers and the Colorado Rockies, previously worked the Fall Classic in 2007, 2011 and 2014. Barrett, who holds a doctorate in theology, is the only umpire in history to have been behind home plate for multiple perfect games (David Cone in 1999 and in 2012). He will lead a crew that includes regular season crew chiefs Fieldin Culbreth and Jeff Nelson as well as Kerwin Danley, Chad Fairchild, Jim Reynolds and Tim Timmons. Like Barrett, it is the fourth career Fall Classic for Nelson; the third for Culbreth; the second for Danley and Reynolds; and the first for Fairchild and Timmons. All seven umpires who will be on the field in the World Series were assigned to this year's Division Series.
Culbreth will serve as the Replay Official for Games One and Two of the World Series, after which he will join the on-field crew as the left field umpire for Game Three. Timmons, the home plate umpire for Game One, will be the Replay Official from Game Three through the conclusion of the World Series. The Replay Assistant throughout the Fall Classic will be Major League Umpire Chris Conroy, who was on the field for the American League Division Series (HOU-CLE). A complete listing of the rotation assigned to the 2018 World Series accompanies this press release.
The 2018 Postseason schedule can be viewed at All games on FOX will be available to MLB.TV subscribers who are authenticated subscribers to the applicable network through a participating pay TV provider. ESPN Radio will provide live national coverage of all 2018 MLB Postseason games.