Top prospects highlight USA's Premier12 roster

Tournament marks first chance to qualify for 2020 Olympics

October 10th, 2019

USA Baseball’s Premier12 roster, featuring seven of MLB Pipeline's Top 100 Prospects, has been finalized prior to the World Baseball Softball Confederation (WBSC) Premier12 tournament.

The 28-man team, made up of players not currently on 40-man rosters, will travel to Mexico for the tournament, which presents USA’s first opportunity to qualify for the 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo.

Competing in a pool with the Dominican Republic, Mexico and the Netherlands, the Americans’ first game will be on Nov. 2 against the Netherlands. The top two teams from the pool will advance to the Super Round in Tokyo, which takes place from Nov. 11-16.

“It is an honor to welcome a group of immensely talented athletes to Team USA as we begin the qualification process for Tokyo 2020,” said USA Baseball executive director and CEO Paul Seiler. “Our goal during the selection process was to identify and piece together a roster that included a combination of both young and veteran baseball players that complement each other on and off the field. These 28 men are exemplary talents and individuals, and we are confident they will represent the United States proudly on the international stage.”

The prospect-laden roster will have plenty of experience on the coaching staff. Joe Girardi is set to manage the squad, and his staff features several notable names, including Scott Brosius and Willie Randolph. All together, the coaching staff has 21 years of experience with Team USA and has won seven gold medals.

The team, which will begin training in Surprise, Ariz., on Oct. 21 is as follows:

Jo Adell, OF, Angels No. 1 (MLB No. 5)
Clayton Andrews, LHP, Brewers No. 30
Alec Bohm, INF, Phillies No. 1 (MLB No. 34)
C.J. Chatham, INF, Red Sox No. 9
Jake Cronenworth, INF, Rays
Bobby Dalbec, INF, Red Sox No. 2
Brandon Dickson, RHP, Orix Buffaloes
Parker Dunshee, RHP, A’s No. 24
Xavier Edwards, INF, Padres No. 5 (MLB No. 72)
J.P Feyereisen, RHP Brewers
Brian Flynn, LHP, Royals
Taylor Gushue, C, Nationals
Tanner Houck, RHP, Red Sox No. 5
Spencer Howard, RHP, Phillies No. 2 (MLB No. 88)
Tyler Johnson, RHP, White Sox No. 19
Erik Kratz, C, Yankees
Wyatt Mills, RHP, Mariners No. 20
Mark Payton, OF, A’s
Brooks Pounders, RHP, Mets
Clayton Richard, LHP, Blue Jays
Brent Rooker, OF, Twins No. 8
Connor Seabold, RHP, Phillies No. 30
Noah Song, RHP, Red Sox No. 15
Caleb Thielbar, LHP, Braves
Daniel Tillo, LHP, Royals No. 30
Daulton Varsho, C/OF, D-backs No. 5 (MLB No. 100)
Andrew Vaughn, INF, White Sox No. 3 (MLB No. 21)
Drew Waters, OF, Braves No. 2 (MLB No. 23)