Dale Williams wins National Collegiate Umpire Award

College Baseball Hall of Fame honors lifetime of umpiring excellence

April 19th, 2013

LUBBOCK, Texas -- The College Baseball Hall of Fame announced this year's recipient of the National Collegiate Umpire Award, honoring a lifetime of excellence in umpiring.
The recipient of the 2013 award is Dale Williams, who umpired college baseball for 32 years. He worked the Division I College World Series in Omaha, Neb., eight times and umpired Division I regionals 21 times. Add to that numerous Division II, Division III and NAIA regionals, and it tallies an impressive list of important baseball over which Williams presided. He has supervised the umpires in several conferences over the years, and also found time to work as an NFL referee for 23 years, including three Super Bowls.
"During my umpiring career, God has blessed me with great friends, experiences and success," Williams said. "Having umpired with the other outstanding men on the ballot, I feel honored and humbled my colleagues have chosen me, and I thank them and the College Baseball Hall of Fame for this prestigious award. It is also a special honor to have my name associated with (previous winners) Dick Runchey and Rich Fetchiet."
Williams' selection was the result of a nomination and screening process by past and current NCAA national coordinators of umpires, NCAA regional advisers, umpire conference coordinators and four collegiate head coaches.
"Dale is truly a career official," said Mike Gustafson, CBHOF executive director. "He is so well respected in college baseball circles, especially on the West Coast. Throw in his NFL experience and it doesn't take long to figure out how remarkable he was."
The College National Collegiate Umpire Award will be presented on June 29 in Lubbock, Texas, as part of College Baseball's Night of Champions. The event features the presentation of several of college baseball's most prestigious awards, as well as the induction ceremonies for the 2013 inductees into the College Baseball Hall of Fame.