Josh Rojas named D-backs Roberto Clemente Nominee

September 8th, 2022

Players Selected for Philanthropic and Humanitarian Efforts Will Be Recognized by Clubs Beginning on Roberto Clemente Day presented by Capital One (Thursday, Sept. 15)

Pittsburgh Pirates Will Play the New York Mets at Citi Field on Roberto Clemente Day, With Roberto Clemente Award Winners in the Ballpark; Game Airing Nationwide on FOX

Major League Baseball Will Recognize the 50th Anniversary of Clemente’s Tragic Passing in 1972

Major League Baseball today announced plans to celebrate the humanitarian legacy of Hall of Famer Roberto Clemente, centered around the annual Roberto Clemente Day and baseball’s most prestigious individual honor, the Roberto Clemente Award – both of which are presented by Capital One.

The 30 Club nominees for the Roberto Clemente Award presented by Capital One includes some of the game’s most philanthropic and humanitarian players, including 16 first-time honorees. The Roberto Clemente Award is the annual recognition of a Major League player who best represents the game of baseball through extraordinary character, community involvement, philanthropy and positive contributions, both on and off the field. The nominees, which were announced exclusively and LIVE on MLB Network, will be officially recognized beginning on Thursday, September 15th, Roberto Clemente Day presented by Capital One. Major League Baseball established Roberto Clemente Day in 2002 to honor the late Hall of Famer’s legacy as a humanitarian.

The 30 Club nominees of the 2022 Roberto Clemente Award are listed below:

Arizona Diamondbacks – Josh Rojas*

Atlanta Braves – Tyler Matzek*

Baltimore Orioles – Dillon Tate*

Boston Red Sox – Jake Diekman*

Chicago Cubs – Jason Heyward

Chicago White Sox – Liam Hendriks

Cincinnati Reds – Joey Votto

Cleveland Guardians – Triston McKenzie*

Colorado Rockies – Kyle Freeland*

Detroit Tigers – Miguel Cabrera

Houston Astros – José Altuve

Kansas City Royals – Nicky López*

Los Angeles Angels – Jared Walsh*

Los Angeles Dodgers – Justin Turner

Miami Marlins – Pablo López*

Milwaukee Brewers – Brent Suter

Minnesota Twins – Byron Buxton*

New York Mets – James McCann*

New York Yankees – Jose Trevino

Oakland Athletics – Tony Kemp

Philadelphia Phillies – Kyle Gibson

Pittsburgh Pirates – David Bednar*

San Diego Padres – Craig Stammen*

San Francisco Giants – Brandon Crawford

Seattle Mariners – Marco Gonzales*

St. Louis Cardinals – Paul Goldschmidt

Tampa Bay Rays – Brandon Lowe*

Texas Rangers – Taylor Hearn*

Toronto Blue Jays – Bo Bichette

Washington Nationals – Josh Bell

*First-time nominee

NOTE: Clubs were permitted to maintain their original nominees even after they were traded.*

As part of the annual program, each MLB Club nominates one player to be considered for the league-wide Award in tribute to Clemente’s achievements and character. This list of nominees features players whose various community and philanthropic activities have focused on important causes such as supporting underserved children & communities in the United States and around the world, supporting those with cancer and other illnesses, advocating for social justice initiatives, environmental advocacy, and more.

The league-wide winner of the Roberto Clemente Award presented by Capital One will be selected via a blue ribbon panel, including Commissioner Manfred, representatives from Capital One, MLB-affiliated networks (MLB Network, FOX Sports, ESPN and TBS),, as well as Roberto’s children, Enrique, Luis and Roberto Clemente, Jr. Beginning today, fans can vote for the Roberto Clemente Award presented by Capital One via (English) and (Spanish). The site will feature bios of each of the nominees and will allow fans to vote until the end of the season on Wednesday, October 5th. The winner of the fan vote will count as one vote among those cast by the blue-ribbon panel. The concept of honoring Major League players for their philanthropic work was created in 1971 as the “Commissioner’s Award.” The recognition was renamed to the “Roberto Clemente Award” in 1973 tribute to Clemente following his passing.