2019 Hank Aaron Award Finalists Announced

Fans Can Vote Starting October 3 on MLB.com/hankaaronaward

October 3rd, 2019

Hall of Fame Panel Featuring Hank Aaron, Ken Griffey Jr., Craig Biggio, Roberto Alomar, Eddie Murray, Robin Yount and Johnny Bench Also Casting Votes

Major League Baseball today announced the finalists for the 2019 Hank Aaron Award, which has recognized the most outstanding offensive performer in each League since it was established in 1999. Baseball fans have the opportunity to help select the winners of this distinguished award by voting for an American and National League player online at MLB.com/hankaaronaward and the 30 Club sites starting today and running through October 9.

Five former Hank Aaron Award winners are among this year’s finalists: Christian Yelich, Bryce Harper, Mike Trout, Paul Goldschmidt and Miguel Cabrera. During the 2019 regular season, the 30 finalists have a combined 1,023 home runs, 2,925 RBI and 2,822 runs. Thirteen finalists were named All-Stars this year and overall the 30 finalists combined to have been named All-Stars 71 times. The finalists for the 2019 Hank Aaron Award are:

American League
Trey Mancini of the Orioles, Xander Bogaerts of the Red Sox, Yoán Moncada of the White Sox, Carlos Santana of the Indians, Miguel Cabrera of the Tigers, Alex Bregman of the Astros, Jorge Soler of the Royals, Mike Trout of the Angels, Nelson Cruz of the Twins, DJ LeMahieu of the Yankees, Marcus Semien of the A's, Omar Narvaez of the Mariners, Austin Meadows of the Rays, Danny Santana of the Rangers and Randal Grichuk of the Blue Jays.

**National League
**Ketel Marte of the D-backs, Freddie Freeman of the Braves, Anthony Rizzo of the Cubs, Eugenio Suarez of the Reds, Nolan Arenado of the Rockies, Cody Bellinger of the Dodgers, Starlin Castro of the Marlins, Christian Yelich of the Brewers, Pete Alonso of the Mets, Bryce Harper of the Phillies, Josh Bell of the Pirates, Fernando Tatis Jr. of the Padres, Kevin Pillar of the Giants, Paul Goldschmidt of the Cardinals and Anthony Rendon of the Nationals.

For the 10th consecutive year, a special panel of Hall of Fame players, led by Hank Aaron himself**,** will also vote on the winners of the award which is officially sanctioned by Major League Baseball.

The panel of Hall of Famers includes Roberto Alomar, Johnny Bench, Craig Biggio, Ken Griffey Jr., Eddie Murray and Robin Yount. These Hall of Famers – who combined for 17,010 hits, 8,844 RBI and 2,275 home runs – have all been personally selected by Aaron to lend their expertise to select the best offensive performer in each League.

Continuing through October 9, fans have the opportunity to select one American League and one National League winner from a list comprising of one finalist per Club. The winners of the 2019 Hank Aaron Award will be announced during the 115th World Series.

Past winners of the Hank Aaron Award include: J.D. Martinez and Christian Yelich (2018); Giancarlo Stanton and Jose Altuve (2017); Kris Bryant and David Ortiz (2016); Josh Donaldson and Bryce Harper (2015); Giancarlo Stanton and Mike Trout (2014); Miguel Cabrera and Paul Goldschmidt (2013); Miguel Cabrera and Buster Posey (2012); José Bautista and Matt Kemp (2011); José Bautista and Joey Votto (2010); Derek Jeter and Albert Pujols (2009); Aramis Ramirez and Kevin Youkilis (2008); Alex Rodriguez and Prince Fielder (2007); Derek Jeter and Ryan Howard (2006); David Ortiz and Andruw Jones (2005); Manny Ramirez and Barry Bonds (2004); Alex Rodriguez and Albert Pujols (2003); Alex Rodriguez and Barry Bonds (2001-02); Carlos Delgado and Todd Helton (2000) and Manny Ramirez and Sammy Sosa (1999).

The Hank Aaron Award was introduced in 1999 to honor the 25th Anniversary of Aaron breaking Babe Ruth’s all-time home run record, and, at that time, was the first major award introduced by Major League Baseball in more than 25 years.