2023 Milwaukee BBWAA Award winners announced

Four Different Players Earn Team Honors

October 9th, 2023

MILWAUKEE - The Milwaukee Brewers announced their 2023 award winners as selected by a panel from the Milwaukee Chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA).

Recent winners can be found here

Catcher William Contreras, who was acquired from Atlanta last December in a three-team trade that also involved Oakland, was unanimously voted Brewers Most Valuable Player and Top Newcomer. He hit .289 with 17 HR and 78 RBI in 141 games this season. Contreras led the team in batting average, hits (156), doubles (38), extra-base hits (56), total bases (247), slugging percentage (.457) and OPS (.825).

Corbin Burnes was voted Brewers Most Valuable Pitcher for the third season in a row as he went 10-8 with a 3.39 ERA in 32 starts this season. Burnes joins Teddy Higuera (1985-87) as the only pitchers in franchise history to win the award three consecutive times. He ranked among NL leaders in WHIP (1st, 1.07), opponent batting average (2nd, .200), H/9IP (2nd, 6.55), innings pitched (T5th, 193.2), ERA (6th) and strikeouts (10th, 200).

Right-handed reliever Bryse Wilson was voted Brewers Unsung Hero. Acquired from Pittsburgh last January in exchange for cash, Wilson went on to go 6-0 with a 2.58 ERA and 3 saves in 53 relief appearances this season. He held opponents to a .211 batting average while posting a 1.07 WHIP.

Outfielder Christian Yelich received the Good Guy Award, which is presented to the player who has the most outgoing, friendly presence in the clubhouse and interacts well with the media on a daily basis in a cooperative and pleasant manner.