Griffin Jax named MLB recipient of Bob Feller Act of Valor Award

Award presentation will be prior to tonight’s 6:40 p.m. game vs. Cleveland

September 14th, 2021

MINNEAPOLIS/ST. PAUL, MN – The Minnesota Twins, in conjunction with the Bob Feller Act of Valor Award Foundation, announced today that Twins right-handed pitcher Griffin Jax has been named the 2021 MLB winner of the Bob Feller Act of Valor Award.

The award presentation will take place on the field prior to tonight’s 6:40 p.m. game against the Cleveland Indians at Target Field. The official announcement, along with the unveiling of the rest of this year’s honorees, will be made in early October by the foundation, and a virtual award ceremony will follow later this year. Jax is the first member of the Twins organization to earn an award from the Bob Feller Act of Valor Award Foundation.

"The Bob Feller Act of Valor Award Foundation is proud to honor Minnesota Twins pitcher Griffin Jax,” Bob Feller Act of Valor Foundation Founder and President Peter J. Fertig said. “Griffin has served his country honorably, becoming the first professional athlete in Major League Baseball to come from the United States Air Force Academy. His service to our country, like Bob Feller’s, serves as a reminder that service above self is still as important today as it was in years past."

Jax embodies the duality of love for baseball and service to the United States that was so crucial to the character of the late Hall-of-Famer Bob Feller. Jax was drafted by the Twins in the third round of the 2016 MLB First-Year Player Draft and, when he made his major league debut on June 8, became the first Air Force Academy graduate to play in the majors. He completed his two-year active duty commitment in 2019 and maintains the rank of Captain in the Air Force Reserves. Jax is scheduled to take the mound tomorrow night vs. Cleveland for his 11th big league start and 15th appearance.

The Bob Feller Act of Valor Award was created in 2013 and has been given annually since then. The award is named after Feller, the first major league player to enlist in the military following the attack on Pearl Harbor in 1941, and recognizes those who share his same commitment to serving the United States. In addition to the award given to an MLB player or coach, the foundation also honors servicemembers and mentoring organizations associated with the U.S. military.

Past MLB winners of the Bob Feller Act of Valor Award are listed below.

2013 - Justin Verlander
2014 - Nick Swisher
2015 - Jonathan Lucroy
2016 - Brad Ziegler
2017 - Darren O'Day
2018 - Sean Doolittle
2019 - Ian Kennedy
2020 - Craig Stammen