MLB announces 2021 All-MLB Teams presented by Cue Health

AL MVP and two-way star Ohtani selected as First Team DH, Second Team SP; First Team selections also include NL MVP Harper, Cy Young winners Burnes, Ray; Cole, Freeman, Hendriks and Soto honored for third straight season; Blue Jays claim Mlb-best three First-Team elections, Dodgers earn league-high five selections across both teams

November 24th, 2021

Major League Baseball today announced the selections for the third annual All-MLB Teams presented by Cue Health. The first and second teams, which were announced earlier this evening on MLB Network, were determined by a combination of voting from fans and a decorated panel of media members, broadcasters, former players and other officials throughout the game. Each player named to the All-MLB First or Second Team will receive a trophy to commemorate his selection.

The 2021 All-MLB First Team winners include catcher Salvador Perez of the Kansas City Royals; first baseman Vladimir Guerrero Jr. of the Toronto Blue Jays; second baseman Marcus Semien of the Blue Jays; shortstop Fernando Tatis Jr. of the San Diego Padres; third baseman Austin Riley of the Atlanta Braves; outfielders Bryce Harper of the Philadelphia Phillies, Aaron Judge of the New York Yankees and Juan Soto of the Washington Nationals; designated hitter Shohei Ohtani of the Los Angeles Angels, who was the overall leading vote-getter amongst fans (DH votes only); starting pitchers Walker Buehler of the Los Angeles Dodgers, Corbin Burnes of the Milwaukee Brewers, Gerrit Cole of the Yankees, Robbie Ray of the Blue Jays and Max Scherzer of the Dodgers; and relief pitchers Josh Hader of the Milwaukee Brewers and Liam Hendriks of the Chicago White Sox.

Second Team All-MLB selections include catcher Buster Posey of the San Francisco Giants; first baseman Freddie Freeman of the Braves; second baseman Ozzie Albies of the Braves; shortstop Trea Turner of the Dodgers; third baseman Rafael Devers of the Boston Red Sox; outfielders Nick Castellanos of the Cincinnati Reds, Teoscar Hernández of the Blue Jays and Kyle Tucker of the Houston Astros; designated hitter Yordan Alvarez of the Astros; starting pitchers Max Fried of the Braves, Kevin Gausman of the Giants, Shohei Ohtani of the Angels, Julio Urías of the Dodgers and Zack Wheeler of the Phillies; and relief pitchers Raisel Iglesias of the Angels and Kenley Jansen of the Dodgers.

Four players – Cole, Freeman Hendriks and Soto – have appeared as All-MLB selections in all three seasons since the honor was introduced following the 2019 season. In addition, seven players overall were selected to either of the teams for a second consecutive season, including Perez (2020 1st team); Freeman (2020 1st team); Tatis Jr. (2020 1st team); Soto (2020 1st team); Fried (2020 1st team); Hendriks (2020 1st team); and Cole (2020 2nd team).

The Blue Jays had a Major League-leading three first team selections, while the Brewers, Dodgers and Yankees each had two first team honorees. The Dodgers led the Majors with five players selected across both teams, followed the Blue Jays and Braves (four each).

Thirteen of the 32 players named to the All-MLB Teams (40.6%) hail from countries outside the 50 United States, while nine of the 32 selections (28.1%) are players age 25-or-younger, more than doubling the 2020 total of four. The nine players include Albies (24), Alvarez (24), Devers (25), Guerrero Jr. (22), Riley (24), Soto (23), Tatis Jr. (22), Tucker (24) and Urías (25).