Tyler Barnes honored with the 2019 Robert O. Fishel Award for Public Relations Excellence

December 10th, 2019

MILWAUKEE – Major League Baseball has honored Milwaukee Brewers Senior Vice President of Communications & Affiliate Operations Tyler Barnes with the Robert O. Fishel Award for Public Relations excellence. The award is presented annually at the Baseball Winter Meetings to a Major League Baseball public relations/communications executive whose ethics, character, dedication and professionalism reflect the highest standards in the industry. Barnes is the first Fishel Award recipient in Brewers history.

“We are thrilled that Tyler is being recognized for his work and commitment to the industry,” said Brewers President of Business Operations Rick Schlesinger. “Anyone who has had the pleasure to work with Tyler immediately appreciates his sincere dedication, in-depth knowledge and integrity. He is one of the most trusted leaders in the organization and we are proud to have him as part of the Milwaukee Brewers family.”

Barnes completed his 14th season with the Brewers in 2019 and was promoted to his current position in 2017. He directs efforts related to broadcasting, media relations, community relations and publications. The Kansas City native also plays a key role in the Club’s Spring Training operations, including the development of the Brewers’ new facility, American Family Fields of Phoenix. Barnes also oversees the team’s relationship with the Single-A Carolina Mudcats. Prior to joining the Brewers, Barnes spent six years with the Detroit Tigers and five with the Houston Astros in marketing and communications roles. He also worked as chief marketing officer for the Harlem Globetrotters.

Barnes is an active supporter of Open Arms Home for Children in South Africa and serves on the board of Africa On Deck, which promotes children’s participation in baseball in underserved areas of Johannesburg, South Africa. The Trinity College graduate and his wife, Monica, have two sons, Avery and Cole.

“I’m honored to accept this award as it is a reflection of the colleagues I have worked alongside, past and present,” Barnes said. “I want to thank my family and those who have offered opportunity along the way. For the past 14 years, I have worked for what I believe is the best organization in professional sports. Mark Attanasio, Rick Schlesinger and David Stearns provide unparalleled support, and the collection of talent and dedication in the organization is at the very highest level.”

The Robert O. Fishel Award for Public Relations Excellence is a Winter Meetings tradition that dates back to 1981. The annual honor is named for the longtime baseball public relations executive who served the Cleveland Indians, the St. Louis Browns, the New York Yankees and the American League Office. The Award is presented to the active, non-uniformed representative of Major League Baseball whose ethics, character, dedication, service, professionalism and humanitarianism best represent the standards propounded by Robert O. Fishel.

Fishel Award nominees are submitted by the 30 Major League Clubs and league officials. The nominees are voted upon by active past winners and MLB officials. The previous winners of the Fishel Award are:

1981 – Robert O. Fishel, American League1982 – Robert W. Brown, Baltimore Orioles1983 – Larry Shenk, Philadelphia Phillies1984 – Arthur E. (Red) Patterson, California Angels1985 – Jim Ferguson, Cincinnati Reds1986 – Fred Claire, Los Angeles Dodgers1987 – Jim Toomey, St. Louis Cardinals1988 – Tom Mee, Minnesota Twins1989 – Donald Davidson, Houston Astros1990 – Ned Colletti, Chicago Cubs1991 – Phyllis K. Merhige, American League1992 – Richard Griffin, Montreal Expos1993 – John Blake, Texas Rangers1994 – Katy Feeney, National League1995 – Howard Starkman, Toronto Blue Jays1996 – Bill Guilfoile, National Baseball Hall of Fame1997 – Dick Bresciani, Boston Red Sox1998 – Jay Horwitz, New York Mets1999 – Bob DiBiasio, Cleveland Indians2000 – Tim Mead, Anaheim Angels2001 – Rob Matwick, Houston Astros2002 – Mike Swanson, Arizona Diamondbacks2003 – Rick Vaughn, Tampa Bay Devil Rays2004 – Jeff Idelson, National Baseball Hall of Fame2005 – Randy Adamack, Seattle Mariners2006 – Rob Butcher, Cincinnati Reds2007 – Richard Levin, Major League Baseball2008 – Scott Reifert, Chicago White Sox2009 – Patrick Courtney, Major League Baseball2010 – Jay Alves, Colorado Rockies2011 – Jim Trdinich, Pittsburgh Pirates2012 – Staci Slaughter, San Francisco Giants2013 – Tim Hevly, Seattle Mariners2014 – Jason Zillo, New York Yankees2015 – Brian Bartow, St. Louis Cardinals
2016 – Bart Swain, Cleveland Indians
2017 – Gene Dias, Houston Astros2018 – Josh Rawitch, Arizona Diamondbacks