Umpires for the 2021 World Series announced

Tom Hallion to Serve as Primary Crew Chief of the 117th Fall Classic

October 25th, 2021

Major League Baseball today announced the Major League Umpires who have been assigned to the 2021 World Series, including 29-year Umpire Tom Hallion as the primary crew chief of the 117th Fall Classic. The American League Champion Houston Astros and the National League Champion Atlanta Braves will meet in the 2021 World Series, with Game One set for Tuesday at Houston’s Minute Maid Park.

Hallion’s crew includes regular season crew chiefs Ted Barrett and Alfonso Marquez and fellow Major League Umpires Dan Bellino, Chris Conroy, Ron Kulpa and Mike Muchlinski. This marks Hallion’s second career World Series (previous: 2008) and his first as the crew chief. This is the fifth career Fall Classic for Barrett; the fourth for Marquez; the second for Kulpa; and the first for Bellino, Conroy and Muchlinski. Each of the seven umpires assigned to the World Series could receive a plate assignment and will be in reserve during the game prior to their scheduled plate duties. Barrett will serve as the crew chief in Game Two of the World Series, when Hallion will be the reserve.

Major League Umpires Pat Hoberg and Tim Timmons will serve in Replay during each of the World Series games. A complete listing of the rotation for the World Series accompanies this press release.

FOX Sports will be the exclusive television broadcaster of the 2021 World Series. ESPN Radio will provide live national coverage of all games of the Fall Classic. MLB Network will air extensive pregame and postgame coverage throughout the Fall Classic and will produce the World Series broadcast for MLB International. All games telecast on FOX will be available to MLB.TV subscribers who are authenticated subscribers to the applicable network through a participating pay TV provider. The 2021 World Series schedule, subject to change, can be viewed at


Game 1 | Umpire | Previous Postseason Assignments
HP Chris Conroy 2 WC, 2 DS, 2 LCS
1B Tom Hallion (CC) 10 DS, 5 LCS, 1 WS
2B Dan Bellino 1 WC, 7 DS, 1 LCS
3B Ted Barrett 5 WC, 12 DS, 9 LCS, 4 WS
LF Mike Muchlinski 1 WC, 3 DS, 1 LCS
RF Alfonso Marquez 2 WC, 11 DS, 5 LCS, 3 WS
Reserve Ron Kulpa 1 WC, 12 DS, 3 LCS, 1 WS

Umpires in Replay During the World Series:

  • Major League Umpire Pat Hoberg
  • Major League Umpire Tim Timmons