Umpires set for Wild Card Series presented by Hankook Tire and Division Series

Wild Card Series Crew Chiefs Are Barrett, Márquez, Meals and Nelson; Carlson, Hudson, Iassogna and Miller to Lead Division Series Crews

October 6th, 2022

Major League Baseball today announced the Major League Umpires who have been assigned to the 2022 Wild Card Series presented by Hankook Tire, all of which will be available across ESPN platforms, and the Division Series. 

The four Wild Card Series crew chiefs are Ted Barrett, Alfonso Márquez, Jerry Meals and Jeff Nelson.  Barrett will be the crew chief in the American League Wild Card Series between the AL Central Champion Cleveland Guardians and the Tampa Bay Rays.  Meals will serve as the crew chief in the AL Wild Card Series that matches up the host Toronto Blue Jays and the Seattle Mariners.  On the National League side, Nelson will be the crew chief in the Wild Card Series between the NL Central Champion St. Louis Cardinals and the Philadelphia Phillies, while Márquez will guide the crew that features the host New York Mets and the San Diego Padres.  Major League Umpires Dan Bellino, Rob Drake, Manny Gonzalez and Mark Wegner will be the Replay Officials throughout the Wild Card Series.

The four Division Series crew chiefs are Mark Carlson, Marvin Hudson, Dan Iassogna and Bill Miller.  Hudson’s crew will work the American League Division Series that features the top-seeded Houston Astros.  Iassogna’s crew will be on the field for the ALDS in which the AL East Champion New York Yankees will have home-field advantage.  Carlson’s crew has been assigned to the National League Division Series that includes the top-seeded Los Angeles Dodgers.  Miller’s crew will call the NLDS that features the NL East Champion Atlanta Braves.  Major League Umpires Ramon De Jesus, Mike Estabrook, Gabe Morales, and Bill Welke have been named the Replay Officials during the Division Series.  A complete listing of the rotations through the Division Series accompanies this press release.

All games telecast on TBS, FOX and FS1 will be available to MLB.TV subscribers who are authenticated subscribers to the applicable network through a participating pay TV provider.  The Wild Card Series will also be available via the ESPN App.  ESPN Radio will provide live national coverage of all 2022 MLB Postseason games, including the Wild Card Series.  MLB Network will provide comprehensive coverage and analysis of the entire Postseason, including the American League Division Series and the American League Championship Series in Spanish.  The 2022 Postseason schedule, subject to change, can be viewed in its entirety at