Washington Nationals announce player development staff

February 9th, 2024

The Washington Nationals announced their 2024 Player Development staff on Friday. Nationals President of Baseball Operations and General Manager Mike Rizzo and Vice President and Assistant General Manager of Player Development and Administration Eddie Longosz made the joint announcement.

New Staff Members

  • Rigo Beltrán will serve as Harrisburg’s pitching coach after spending the 2023 season as the Cleveland Guardians’ bullpen coach. He moved to that role after four seasons (2019-22) between Triple-A Columbus and Cleveland’s Alternate Training Site. During that time, 19 pitchers made their Major League debuts after being called up from one of the two affiliates. Beltrán spent the 2018 season as the pitching coach for Double-A Akron after three seasons (2015-17) with High-A Lynchburg. Beltrán appeared in 78 Major League games across five seasons with Montreal (2004), Colorado (1999-00), New York Mets (1998-99) and St. Louis (1997). He was selected in the 26th round of the 1991 June Amateur Draft out of the University of Wyoming.
  • Tommy Everidge, who spent the last two seasons as the hitting coach for the Oakland Athletics, will serve as Washington’s Minor League hitting coordinator. Prior to his role on the A’s Major League staff, he worked eight seasons in Oakland’s Minor League system. He began his coaching career as the hitting coach for short-season Single-A Vermont for two seasons (2014-15) before moving to Single-A Stockton (2016-17) and Double-A Midland (2018-20). He spent one season with Triple-A Las Vegas in 2021 before being promoted to the Major League staff in 2022. Everidge spent seven seasons in Oakland’s system as a player, eventually making his Major League debut in 2009. A native of Santa Rosa, California, Everidge was selected in the 10th round of the 2004 First-Year Player Draft from Sonoma State University.
  • Niomar Gomez joins the coaching ranks after a five-year professional career in Washington’s Minor League system. He appeared in 55 games (38 starts) from 2017 to 2023, going 7-12 with a 5.32 ERA and 180 strikeouts in 187.2 innings.
  • Mike Habas joins the organization after five seasons as a hitting coach in Milwaukee’s Minor League system. He spent the previous two seasons (2022-23) with the Arizona Complex League Brewers after starting his career as the Dominican Summer League hitting coach from 2019 to 2021. Habas joined the Brewers’ organization after two years (2017-18) as a coach for the Gary SouthShore RailCats. A native of Homewood, Illinois, Habas played collegiately at North Greenville University after stops at Moraine Valley Community College and South Suburban College.
  • Kylie Kain was promoted to Minor League Nutrition Coordinator after joining the organization in 2023 as the performance dietitian for Triple-A Rochester, the first ever female field staff member for the Red Wings. Kain was the owner of Kylie Kain Nutrition in Washington, D.C., a private practice to help clients and athletes reach health and performance goals, while also working as a part-time fitness coach. Kain earned both a Master and Bachelor of Science degree in Nutrition and Physical Performance from St. Louis University. She earned her first degree in philosophy from Colgate University in 2014 where she was also a member of the lacrosse team.
  • Jeff Livesey returns to Double-A Harrisburg where his coaching career began in 1996 as the hitting coach for the Senators. He spent two seasons with Montreal’s Double-A affiliate before joining Pittsburgh’s organization in 1998. Prior to joining the Nationals, Livesey spent the last four seasons (2020-23) as Miami’s Minor League hitting coordinator. He was also Miami’s catching coordinator in 2023. He moved to the Minor League side after serving as their Major League assistant hitting coach in 2019. Prior to his time with the Marlins organization, Livesey spent 16 seasons (1998-2005, 2011-18) with the Pittsburgh Pirates organization, including five seasons on their Major League staff from 2014-18. Between stints with the Pirates, Livesey worked in Japan as the bench coach for the Hiroshima Carp (2006-09) and the Rakuten Eagles (2010). Livesey played eight professional seasons in New York’s (AL) Minor League system before joining the coaching ranks in 1996.
  • Chris Prieto spent the previous two seasons (2022-23) as Tampa Bay’s first base coach. Prior to joining their Major League staff, he served as their Minor League outfield/baserunning coordinator in 2020 and 2021. Prieto joined Tampa’s organization after seven seasons with the Seattle Mariners, including six seasons on their Major League coaching staff. He was their third base coach in 2019, first base coach in 2018, special projects coach in 2017 and their quality assurance coach from 2014-16. Prieto joined the Major League staff after leading Rookie-level Pulaski to an Appalachian League title in 2013. He joined the coaching ranks in 2011 as a hitting coach for Single-A Eugene in San Diego’s system after a 13-year professional career that included a two-game stint with the Los Angeles Angels in 2005. Prieto graduated from Carmel (CA) High School and attended San Jose City College and the University of Nevada. He was selected by the San Diego Padres in the 24th round of the 1993 June Amateur Draft.
  • Jason Wood joins the Nationals organization after spending the last four seasons (2020-23) with the San Francisco Giants as their Minor League infield coordinator. Prior to his time with the Giants, he worked 11 seasons (2008-19) in the Texas Rangers system, spending the last nine as a manager across various levels. In 2014, Wood was named the Texas League Manager of the Year after leading Double-A Frisco to a league-best 80 wins. In 2012 and 2013 as the manager of High-A Myrtle Beach, Baseball America cited Wood as the top managerial prospect in the Carolina League. Wood appeared in 153 games across five Major League seasons with Oakland (1998), Detroit (1998-99) and Florida (2006-08). Wood amassed 1,840 hits in 1,890 games across 17 Minor League seasons from 1991 to 2008.