Twins announce 2018 Diamond Awards recipients winners

The Minnesota Twins announced today the recipients of the Diamond Awards, their annual awards for the 2018 season based on voting conducted by the Twin Cities Chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America.

October 18th, 2018

The Minnesota Twins announced today the recipients of the Diamond Awards, their annual awards for the 2018 season based on voting conducted by the Twin Cities Chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America. In addition, the Twins and the BBWAA announced plans for the 14th annual Diamond Awards, which will be held Thursday, January 24, 2019 at The Depot Minneapolis and will benefit research, education and care in brain, nerve and muscle disorders at the University of Minnesota.

Outfielder Eddie Rosario is the winner of the Calvin R. Griffith Award (the Twins' first owner) given to the Most Valuable Twin, his first time winning the award. The Puerto Rico native hit .288 (161-for-559) with 31 doubles, two triples, 24 home runs, 77 RBI and 87 runs scored in 138 games. He finished the season tied for 10th in the American League in multi-hit games despite playing in just 138 games.

Right-handed pitcher José Berríos is the winner of the Joseph W. Haynes Award (former Twins Executive Vice President) given to the Twins Pitcher of the Year. The American League All-Star made 32 starts, going 12-11 with a 3.84 ERA (192.1 IP, 82 ER), two complete games, 61 walks and 202 strikeouts. He became the eighth different Twin to reach the 200-strikeout mark in a season. He also finished tied for first in the AL in complete games, tied for sixth in starts, eighth in innings pitched and 11th in strikeouts. He has also been named the winner of the Carl R. Pohlad Community Service Award. Berríos has done extensive work in his native Puerto Rico, including providing relief supplies to those in need following Hurricane Maria's devastation of the island. 

Outfielder Jake Cave is the winner of the Bill Boni Award (former St. Paul Dispatch-Pioneer Press Executive Sports Editor) given to the Twins Most Outstanding Rookie. Cave joined the Twins in spring training as part of a trade with the New York Yankees and played in 91 games for the Twins, hitting .265 (75-for-283) with 16 doubles, two triples, 13 home runs, 45 RBI and 54 runs scored. He ranked tied for first among AL rookies Post-All-Star Break in games (65), fifth in homers (10) and RBI (33), and eighth in hits (51).

Outfielder Max Kepler is the winner of the Jim Kaat Award (former Twins pitcher) for Twins Defensive Player of the Year. Kepler led the club in games played in the field with 151 (142 starts), making just one error and seven outfield assists in 335 total chances. He ranked third in the AL in games played in the outfield, playing in both rightfield and centerfield.

First baseman Joe Mauer is the winner of the Dick Siebert Award (former University of Minnesota Baseball Coach) given to the Upper Midwest Player of the Year. The St. Paul native wins the award for the seventh time in his career (2006, '08, '09, '10, '12, '17). Mauer played in 127 games, hitting .282 (137-for-486) with 27 doubles, six home runs, 48 RBI, 51 walks and a .351 on-base percentage. He is also the winner of the Bob Allison Award (former Twins player) given to the Twins player who exemplifies determination, hustle, tenacity, competitive spirit and leadership both on and off the field.

Right-handed pitcher Kyle Gibson has been named the winner of both the Mike Augustin "Media Good Guy" Award (former Pioneer Press Sports Writer) and the Charles O. Johnson Award (former Minneapolis Star Tribune Sports Editor), awarded to the most improved Twin. Gibson went 10-13 with a 3.62 ERA (196.2 IP, 79 ER), 79 walks and 179 strikeouts. He led the club in innings pitched and set career-highs in strikeouts, ERA and innings.

Former Twins third baseman Corey Koskie will be given the Kirby Puckett Award for Twins Alumni Community Service. Koskie works with and supports the Positive Coaching Alliance and the Twins Community Fund as a board member and volunteer. Koskie has also spent much of his post-playing career coaching and working to improve youth amateur sports.  


In addition, Hall of Famer Jack Morris will be given the Herb Carneal Lifetime Achievement Award. The St. Paul native pitched 18 seasons in the majors, going 254-186 with a 3.90 ERA in 549 games between Detroit, Minnesota, Toronto and Cleveland. The 1991 World Series MVP was inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame in July. Jack joins Herb Carneal (2006), Tom Mee (2007), Carl Pohlad (2008), Jerry Bell (2009), Bert Blyleven (2010), John Gordon (2011), Jim Rantz (2012), Tony Oliva (2013), Tom Kelly (2015), Rod Carew (2016) and Rick Stelmaszek (2017) as the only recipients of the award.

The 14th annual Diamond Awards dinner, which will be held on Thursday, January 24, 2019 beginning at 5:30 p.m. at The Depot Minneapolis, will honor the 2018 BBWAA award recipients as well as the winners of the Sherry Robertson Award (Alex Kirilloff) for the Twins Minor League Player of the Year and the Jim Rantz Award (Lewis Thorpe) for the Twins Minor League Pitcher of the Year. 

All proceeds from the event will benefit the University of Minnesota's innovative research and patient care focused on ALS (Lou Gehrig's Disease), ataxia, muscular dystrophy, multiple sclerosis and Parkinson's disease. Along with the award winners, current and former Twins players and coaches are scheduled to appear at the event. Corporate sponsorship opportunities, tables and individual tickets are now available. For more information on the event visit or call (612) 425-1483.