Yankees to hold 73rd annual Old-Timers' Day on Sunday, June 23 at Yankee Stadium

2019 Hall of Fame inductee Mariano Rivera to make Old-Timers’ Day debut

June 12th, 2019

The New York Yankees today announced the roster of former Yankees who will be on hand at the 73rd annual Old-Timers’ Day on Sunday, June 23, at Yankee Stadium — the 11th Old-Timers’ Day at the current Yankee Stadium.

Mariano Rivera, who will be inducted into Cooperstown this July as the first player unanimously elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame, will be making his Old-Timers’ Day debut. The native of Panama amassed an all-time Major League-record 652 career saves. A lifetime Yankee (1995-2013), he was a 13-time All-Star and a member of five World Series championship-winning Yankees teams (1996, ’98-2000, ’09).

Along with Rivera, the Old-Timers’ Day roster will also feature fellow Hall of Famers Whitey Ford and Reggie Jackson, with current Yankees Manager Aaron Boone and Hitting Coach Marcus Thames. Former Yankees players and current YES Network broadcasters David Cone, John Flaherty and Paul O’Neill will also take part in the festivities.

Joining the Hall of Famers and former Yankees on the field will be the widows of five legendary Yankees—Helen Hunter, widow of Jim “Catfish” Hunter; Jill Martin, widow of Billy Martin; Diana Munson, widow of Thurman Munson; Kay Murcer, widow of Bobby Murcer; and Jean Stottlemyre, widow of Mel Stottlemyre.

Also making their Old Timers’ Day debut are Jerry Hairston Jr. — who was acquired by the Yankees at the 2009 trade deadline and played a role in bringing the 27th World Championship home to the Bronx — and Jason Grimsley — who appeared in 118 games as a member of the Yankees bullpen from 1999-2000.

Fans are asked to be in their seats by 11:30 a.m. for Old-Timers’ introductions with the traditional Old-Timers’ game to follow. All of the pregame celebrations will be aired exclusively on the YES Network. The Yankees will then host the Houston Astros at 2:05 p.m., also airing on YES. All gates will open to ticket-holding fans at 10:00 a.m.

List of those scheduled to attend:

(*first-time Old-Timer)

Jesse Barfield

Aaron Boone

Scott Bradley

Dr. Bobby Brown

Homer Bush

Chris Chambliss

David Cone

Johnny Damon

Bucky Dent

Al Downing

Brian Doyle

John Flaherty

Whitey Ford

Jason Giambi

Jason Grimsley*

Ron Guidry

Jerry Hairston Jr.*

Charlie Hayes

Helen Hunter

Reggie Jackson

Scott Kamieniecki

Don Larsen

Graeme Lloyd

Hector Lopez

Jill Martin

Tino Martinez

Lee Mazzilli

Ramiro Mendoza

Gene Monahan

Diana Munson

Kay Murcer

Jeff Nelson

Paul O'Neill

Joe Pepitone

Lou Piniella

Willie Randolph

Mariano Rivera*

Mickey Rivers

Luis Sojo

Jean Stottlemyre*

Marcus Thames

David Wells

Bernie Williams