Díaz receives '22 All-MLB First Team honors

Lindor, Scherzer selected for Second Team

December 6th, 2022

NEW YORK -- It would be difficult to win 101 games without the help of some stars. 

The Mets enlisted more than a few this season en route to the second-best record in franchise history. And while the campaign didn’t quite end the way they had hoped, those individual performances have earned the club its share of accolades.

Three Mets earned a spot on this year’s All-MLB Team, including closer Edwin Díaz, who was one of two relievers to make the All-MLB First Team. Shortstop and starting pitcher made the Second Team. 

Unlike the Most Valuable Player and Cy Young Awards, which are given to players in both the American and National Leagues, the All-MLB Team recognizes the best player at each position across the Majors. Winners were chosen through a voting process that equally involved fans and an expert panel. The process only took into consideration regular-season performance, so the Mets’ early playoff exit didn’t hurt Díaz, Lindor or Scherzer. 

Díaz’s inclusion on the team came as no surprise, after a season in which he saved 32 games, posted a 1.31 ERA and struck out 118 batters in 62 innings. Díaz’s punchout rate was the second highest in AL/NL history among pitchers with at least 30 innings in a season. Last month, the Mets rewarded him with a five-year, $102 million contract.

Scherzer might have made a run at the All-MLB First Team had multiple injuries not limited him to 23 starts. He made the most of those, at least, going 11-5 with a 2.29 ERA. 

Lindor was one of the game's premier all-around shortstops, knocking in 107 runs while playing strong up-the-middle defense. He was also honored by his peers with the Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award, which is presented each year to the player “whose leadership most inspires others to higher levels of achievement.”

The Mets had several other nominees who fell short of making the All-MLB Team: first baseman Pete Alonso; second baseman Jeff McNeil; outfielders Brandon Nimmo and Starling Marte; and designated hitter Daniel Vogelbach.