HS All-American Game, HRD rosters unveiled

July 6th, 2021

Major League Baseball and USA Baseball have announced the roster for this weekend’s High School All-American Game, which will help kick off All-Star Week festivities.

The showcase game will take place at Coors Field today at approximately 7 p.m. ET, and will be streaming live on MLB.com with Scott Braun, Harold Reynolds and Jim Callis on the call.

The prospect-packed roster of 39 players highlights some of the top U.S.-based high school baseball prospects for the 2022 MLB Draft and features players from 17 states and Puerto Rico. Sons of former Major Leaguers CC Sabathia, Andruw Jones and Lou Collier are among the high school standouts as are two players -- OF Reese Chapman and RHP Christian Foutch -- from the state of Colorado.

Several players featured in the High School All-American Game roster have previously participated in diversity-focused development initiatives led by MLB & USA Baseball. These players include Cameron Collier (Breakthrough Series, DREAM Series and Hank Aaron Invitational, which is also supported by the MLBPA), Elijah Green (Breakthrough Series, DREAM Series and Hank Aaron Invitational), Termarr Johnson (Breakthrough Series, DREAM Series and Hank Aaron Invitational), Andruw Jones (DREAM Series), Kaden Martin (Breakthrough Series), Aiden Moffet (Breakthrough Series), Carsten Sabathia (Hank Aaron Invitational) and Kassius Thomas (Breakthrough Series, DREAM Series and Hank Aaron Invitational).

The game features the consensus top two prep prospects in the 2022 Draft, IMG Academy (Bradenton, Fla.) outfielder Green and Buford (Ga.) HS right-hander Dylan Lesko. Green, who would have been a strong candidate to go No. 1 overall in this year's Draft had he made himself eligible, is a five-tool center fielder with outstanding power and speed. Lesko already reaches 96 mph with his fastball and has an array of plus secondary pitches to go with an athletic, projectable frame.

There are several other prospects who project as first-rounders for 2022, including Wesleyan HS (Peachtree Corners, Ga.) outfielder Jones, Mays HS (Atlanta) shortstop Johnson, Braswell HS (Aubrey, Texas) shortstop Jayson Jones and IMG Academy left-hander Jackson Ferris. Mount Paran Christian HS (Kennesaw, Ga.) third baseman Collier is one of the top prospects in the 2023 class and the only underclassmen playing in the game.

Eight All-American players will compete in the annual High School Home Run Derby on Saturday at 2:30 p.m. ET at Coors Field. MLB.com will once again livestream the event with Braun, Jonathan Mayo, and 10-year Major League veteran Yonder Alonso providing commentary.

The players vying for a chance to compete in the finals during breaks of the T-Mobile Home Run Derby on Monday night include: Elijah Green (Windermere, FL), Termarr Johnson (Atlanta, GA), Jared Jones (Marietta, GA), Kaden Martin (Baltimore, MD), Robby Snelling (Reno, NV), Riley Stanford (Gainesville, GA), Sal Stewart (Miami, FL), and Jason Torres (Miami, FL).

Former Colorado Rockies Manager Clint Hurdle and former Rockies infielder Clint Barmes will manage the two teams with support from Chad Cordero (2005 MLB All-Star), Roy Hallenbeck (Retired Head Baseball Coach, Millville – N.J. – High School), Jason Maxwell (former MLB infielder, 1998, 2000-2001; 18U National Team Manager, USA Baseball), Todd Pratt (former MLB catcher, 1992-1995, 1997-2006), Jerry Royster (former MLB infielder, 1973-1987) and Bianca Smith (Boston Red Sox Player Development Coach).

In a new twist for this year, the High School All-American Game will also serve as a feeder for MLB and USA Baseball’s Prospect Development Pipeline (PDP) League as well as the USA Baseball 18U National Team, which is slated to compete in the U-18 Baseball World Cup this September. The PDP League will take place in late July at the USA Baseball National Team Complex in Cary, N.C.

All-Star Game Roster

Name, Pos., High School (State)

Kassius Thomas, RHP, Sierra Canyon (Calif.)
Malcolm Moore, C, C.K. McClatchy (Calif.)
Reese Chapman, OF, Grandview (Colo.)
Christian Foutch, RHP, Chatfield (Colo.)
Brady Neal, C, IMG Academy (Fla.)
Brandon Barriera, LHP, American Heritage (Fla.)
Ethan Petry, 3B, Cypress Creek (Fla.)
Luke Heyman, C, Lake Brantley (Fla.)
Sal Stewart, 3B, Westminster Christian (Fla.)
Jason Torres, 1B/3B, Miami Springs Senior (Fla.)
Roman Anthony, OF, Marjory Stoneman Douglas (Fla.)
Elijah Green, OF, IMG Academy (Fla.)
Termarr Johnson, MIF, Mays (Ga.)
Cameron Collier, 3B, Mt Paran Christian (Ga.)
Dylan Lesko, RHP, Buford (Ga.)
Hayden Murphy, RHP, Tiftarea Academy (Ga.)
Riley Stanford, RHP, Buford (Ga.)
Jared Jones, C, Walton (Ga.)
Andruw Jones, OF, Wesleyan (Ga.)
Noah Schultz, LHP, Oswego East (Ill.)
Andrew Dutkanych, RHP, Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory (Ind.)
Kaden Martin, OF, McDonogh (Md.)
Nolan Schubart, OF/1B, Orchard Lake St. Mary's Prep (Mich.)
Aiden Moffett, RHP, Taylorsville (Miss.)
Eli Jerzembeck, RHP, Providence (N.C.)
Luke Schmolke, RHP, Lake Norman (N.C.)
Jackson Ferris, LHP, IMG Academy (N.C.)
Robby Snelling, LHP, McQueen (Nev.)
Carsten Sabathia, 1B, Bergen Catholic (N.J.)
Nazier Mule, UTIL, Passaic County Technical Institute (N.J.)
Paxton Kling, OF, Central (Pa.)
Cole Young, MIF, North Allegheny (Pa.)
JeanPierre Ortiz, SS, Carlos Beltran Academy (P.R.)
Tristan Smith, LHP, Boiling Springs (S.C.)
Tucker Toman, 3B, Hammond (S.C.)
Chase Shores, RHP, Lee (Texas)
Jayson Jones, MIF, Braswell (Texas)
Ian Ritchie Jr., RHP, Bainbridge (Wash.)
Gavin Kilen, MIF, Milton (Wis.)