MLB announces 2021 AFL schedule

September 22nd, 2021

Major League Baseball today announced the Arizona Fall League’s (AFL) 2021 schedule, with the 90-game regular season set to open on Wednesday, October 13th. The League’s annual Fall Stars Game will be played on Saturday, November 13th while the AFL Championship Game is scheduled for Saturday, November 20th, both of which will air LIVE beginning at 7:00 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. MT on MLB Network as well as streaming on and in the MLB App. The league returns for its 29th season of operation to help accelerate the development of players, managers, coaches and umpires after a one-year hiatus due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The AFL is comprised of six teams – the Glendale Desert Dogs, Mesa Solar Sox, Peoria Javelinas, Salt River Rafters, Scottsdale Scorpions and Surprise Saguaros – broken up into the East (Mesa, Salt River, Scottsdale) and West (Glendale, Peoria, Surprise) divisions. The six clubs will each play a 30-game schedule at Spring Training ballparks, including Camelback Ranch in Glendale (Los Angeles Dodgers and Chicago White Sox), Sloan Park Mesa (Chicago Cubs), Peoria Sports Complex (Seattle Mariners and San Diego Padres), Salt River Stadium at Talking Stick (Arizona Diamondbacks and Colorado Rockies), Scottsdale Stadium (San Francisco Giants) and Surprise Stadium (Texas Rangers and Kansas City Royals).

Fans can attend AFL games under COVID-19 safety protocols that are in place with guidance from local and state health officials. Fans can purchase season passes here, with single passes available for $100 ($75 discounted rate for seniors 55+) and double passes available for $125 ($100 discounted rate for seniors 55+). Individual game tickets are available for purchase the day of the game at the stadium box office. Tickets go on sale beginning one hour prior to game time. Tickets cost $9 for an adult and $7 for seniors 55+. Children 12 and under who are accompanied by an adult receive free admission. For more ticket information, fans may call (480) 990-1005. Players and coaches will not be signing autographs this season per the Major League Baseball’s COVID-19 protocols. Click here to read ticket terms & conditions.

Nearly 60 percent of all AFL players make a Major League roster, with the league boasting 321 All-Stars, 21 MVPs, six Cy Young Award winners, eight World Series MVPs, 103 Silver Sluggers, 96 Gold Gloves and 32 Rookies of the Year.

Each Major League team will send seven top prospects to fill the rosters of the six teams. The AFL teams and their MLB affiliates will be as follows for the 2021 season: Glendale (Angels, Astros, Cardinals, Dodgers, White Sox), Mesa (Athletics, Blue Jays, Cubs, Marlins, Orioles), Peoria (Braves, Mariners, Padres, Phillies, Pirates), Salt River (Brewers, Diamondbacks, Mets, Rockies, Tigers), Scottsdale (Giants, Indians, Rays, Red Sox, Twins) and Surprise (Nationals, Reds, Rangers, Royals, Yankees). The 2021 AFL rosters will be announced at a later date.