College Baseball Foundation announces third annual All-American team

June 21st, 2022

LUBBOCK, Texas – The College Baseball Foundation is proud to announce its third annual All-American team.

Thanks to the growth and success of the CBF’s three staple awards – the National Pitcher of the Year Award, the Brooks Wallace Award recognizing the top shortstop in the game and the John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award – the CBF is once again honoring the top players from 2022 with its All-American team.

These players brought great success and attention to themselves and their teams and have proven to be outstanding ambassadors for the college game.

Leading the way for this year’s team is national player of the year candidate and 2022 National Pitcher of the Year winner Cooper Hjerpe, who had one of the most dominant seasons of any pitcher in college baseball history. The team also features Brooks Wallace Award winner Brooks Lee from Cal Poly and Olerud Award winner Paul Skenes from the Air Force Academy.

The players were chosen from voting done by the Foundation’s award committees.

For more information on the All-American team or the other College Baseball Foundation Awards, go to


First Team

Catcher: Kevin Parada, Georgia Tech

First base: Ivan Melendez, Texas

Second base: Jace Jung, Texas Tech

Shortstop: Brooks Lee, Cal Poly

Third base: Trey Lipscomb, Tennessee

Designated hitter: Tommy White, North Carolina State

Outfield: Dylan Crews, LSU; Jacob Melton, Oregon State; Chris Alleyne, Maryland

Utility: Paul Skenes, Air Force

Starting pitcher: Cooper Hjerpe, Oregon State; Chase Dollander, Tennessee; John Michael Bertrand, Notre Dame; Alex Williams, Stanford

Relief pitcher: Triston Stivers, Texas State; William Privette, College of Charleston; Jake Gowen, Georgia

Second Team

Catcher: Cade Hunter, Virginia Tech

First base: Sonny DiChiara, Auburn

Second base: R.J. Yeager, Mississippi State; Hogan Windish, UNC-Greensboro

Shortstop: Peyton Graham, Oklahoma

Third base: Max Wagner, Clemson

Designated hitter: Brett Berrera, Stanford

Outfield: Murphy Stehly, Texas; Enrique Bradfield Jr., Vanderbilt; Levi Usher, Louisville

Utility: Devin Ortiz, Virginia

Starting pitcher: Drew Thorpe, Cal-Poly; Rhett Lowder, Wake Forest; Brandon Birdsell, Texas Tech

Relief pitcher: Redmon Walsh, Tennessee; Andrew Walters, Miami; Carter Spivey, East Carolina; Blake Burkhalter, Auburn; Dale Stanavich, Rutgers