Several D-backs with strong cases to make ASG

May 29th, 2019

Read our FAQ on this year’s revamped balloting format, which includes two phases of fan voting to determine the All-Star starters, and the ability to vote through Google Search.

DENVER -- It's officially All-Star balloting season, and the D-backs have several candidates to represent Arizona at the 90th MLB All-Star Game on July 9 at Progressive Field in Cleveland. Voting began Tuesday, when the 2019 Google All-Star Ballot was released under a new format.

Several D-backs starters are having big offensive seasons. Eduardo Escobar has led the way, batting .290 with 13 home runs and a .914 OPS, and he is a strong candidate at third base for the National League. Second baseman Ketel Marte is having a breakout campaign as he is batting .276 with 12 homers and an .857 OPS.

After a big season in 2018, outfielder David Peralta picked up where he left off, hitting .309/.357/.524 with seven homers, though he's currently on the 10-day injured list with right shoulder inflammation.

Arizona has two other outfielders with strong All-Star cases: veterans Adam Jones and Jarrod Dyson. Jones is having a bounce-back season at the plate, launching 10 homers after hitting 15 last year with the Orioles. Dyson has a .771 OPS with 12 steals to go along with his speedy defense in center field.

Fans may vote in "The Primary" at and all 30 club sites, the MLB At Bat and MLB Ballpark apps up to five times in any 24-hour period. Fans in the US and Canada can also vote on Google Search for every position, or up to 17 unique players per day, by searching "MLB Vote" or the names of their favorite players. Primary voting ends at 4 p.m. ET on Friday, June 21.

The top three vote-getters at each position (including nine outfielders) per league will move on to "The Starters Election," which begins at noon ET on Wednesday, June 26. The votes will reset for a 28-hour voting window that ends at 4 p.m. ET on Thursday, June 27. Starters for the 2019 Midsummer Classic will be unveiled on ESPN that night at 7 ET. The pitchers and reserves will be announced on Sunday, June 30, at 5:30 p.m. ET.

Then on Tuesday, July 9, during the 2019 All-Star Game presented by Mastercard, fans may visit and the 30 club sites to submit their choices for the Ted Williams Most Valuable Player Award presented by Chevrolet.

The 90th Midsummer Classic, at Progressive Field in Cleveland, will be televised nationally by FOX Sports; in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and RDS; and worldwide by partners in more than 180 countries. FOX Deportes will provide Spanish-language coverage in the United States, while ESPN Radio and ESPN Radio Deportes will provide exclusive national radio coverage. MLB Network, and SiriusXM also will provide comprehensive All-Star Week coverage. For more information about MLB All-Star Week and to purchase tickets, please visit and follow @MLB and @AllStarGame on social media.