MLB reveals 2021 Hank Aaron Award finalists

October 8th, 2021

Major League Baseball has announced the 14 finalists for this year’s Hank Aaron Award, which recognizes the most outstanding offensive player in the regular season from both the American and the National Leagues. As always, baseball fans have the opportunity to help select the winners of this distinguished award by voting online at through Oct. 15.

Each Major League club nominated one player from its team to be considered for the Award, and a panel of writers determined the seven finalists for each league. In addition to the fan vote, a special panel of Hall of Fame players that includes Johnny Bench, Craig Biggio, Ken Griffey Jr., Chipper Jones, Pedro Martinez, Eddie Murray, John Smoltz and Robin Yount will vote on the winners of the award.

The seven American League finalists for the 2021 Hank Aaron Award are:

Cedric Mullins (Baltimore Orioles)
José Ramírez (Cleveland Indians)
Salvador Perez (Kansas City Royals)
Shohei Ohtani (Los Angeles Angels)
Aaron Judge (New York Yankees)
Matt Olson (Oakland Athletics)
Vladimir Guerrero Jr. (Toronto Blue Jays)

While the seven National League finalists include:

Freddie Freeman (Atlanta Braves)*
Nick Castellanos (Cincinnati Reds)
Bryce Harper (Philadelphia Phillies)**
Fernando Tatis Jr. (San Diego Padres)
Brandon Crawford (San Francisco Giants)
Paul Goldschmidt (St. Louis Cardinals)***
Juan Soto (Washington Nationals)

2020 Award winner*
2015 Award winner**
2013 Award winner***

The 2021 Hank Aaron Award marks the first since the passing of Henry “Hank” Aaron on Jan. 22, 2021. Today, for the first time in MLB history, Aaron’s two former franchises, the Atlanta Braves and the Milwaukee Brewers, will meet in Game 1 of the NLDS. The award was introduced in 1999 to honor the 25th anniversary of Aaron breaking Babe Ruth’s all-time home run record.