Here's each team's Heart & Hustle Award winner

July 16th, 2019

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- The Major League Baseball Players Alumni Association announced the 30 preliminary winners of the 2019 Heart and Hustle Award on Tuesday. This esteemed award honors active players who demonstrate a passion for the game of baseball and best embody the values, spirit and traditions of the game. The Heart and Hustle Award is also the only award in Major League Baseball that is voted on by former players. Voting is conducted prior to the All-Star break.

The 30 individual team winners are as follows:

American League: Baltimore Orioles, Trey Mancini; Boston Red Sox, Rafael Devers; Chicago White Sox, James McCann; Cleveland Indians, Francisco Lindor; Detroit Tigers, Niko Goodrum; Houston Astros, Jake Marisnick; Kansas City Royals, Whit Merrifield; Los Angeles Angels, David Fletcher; Minnesota Twins, Byron Buxton; New York Yankees, DJ LeMahieu; Oakland Athletics, Marcus Semien; Seattle Mariners, Mitch Haniger; Tampa Bay Rays, Avisaíl García; Texas Rangers, Hunter Pence; Toronto Blue Jays, Freddy Galvis.

National League: Arizona Diamondbacks, Eduardo Escobar; Atlanta Braves, Nick Markakis; Chicago Cubs, Javier Báez; Cincinnati Reds, José Iglesias; Colorado Rockies, Tony Wolters; Los Angeles Dodgers, Max Muncy; Miami Marlins, Miguel Rojas; Milwaukee Brewers, Lorenzo Cain; New York Mets, Jeff McNeil; Philadelphia Phillies, J.T. Realmuto; Pittsburgh Pirates, Josh Bell; San Diego Padres, Fernando Tatís, Jr.; San Francisco Giants, Pablo Sandoval; St. Louis Cardinals, Paul DeJong; Washington Nationals, Howie Kendrick.

The MLBPAA formed 30 committees, comprised of alumni players with established relationships to each team. One player from each Major League team is chosen by the committees based on their passion, desire and work ethic demonstrated both on and off the field. These players will be recognized prior to an upcoming home game. As the season draws to a close, all alumni and active players will vote to select the final winner from the 30 team winners. Previous overall winners have been David Eckstein (2005), Craig Biggio (2006, 2007), Grady Sizemore (2008), Albert Pujols (2009), Roy Halladay (2010), Torii Hunter (2011), Mike Trout (2012), Dustin Pedroia (2013), Josh Harrison (2014), Anthony Rizzo (2015), Todd Frazier (2016), Brett Gardner (2017) and Mookie Betts (2018).

The overall winner will be revealed on Nov. 7 at the 20th annual Legends for Youth Dinner in New York. This event is the primary fundraiser for the MLBPAA's series of free Legends for Youth Baseball Clinics. These clinics impact more than 19,000 children each year at 185 clinics, allowing them the unique opportunity to interact with and learn from players who have left a lasting impact on the game of baseball.