Louisiana beats Curacao for Little League crown

August 25th, 2019

For the first time, a team from Louisiana has been crowned Little League World Series champion. Representing the Southwest region in the U.S. tournament, the Eastbank Little League squad from River Ridge, La., defeated Curacao, 8-0, in the championship game in South Williamsport, Pa., on Sunday afternoon.

Starting pitcher Egan Prather tossed a shutout (six innings) on two hits, striking out six over 88 pitches. Marshall Louque led the way at the plate, delivering a single and two doubles to drive in three runs, including one in a four-run fifth inning.

Curacao mounted a threat in the third, loading the bases with one out. Marshall fielded a ground ball to third and fired home for the forceout, and then Jurdrick Profar -- younger brother of Athletics infielder Jurickson Profar -- was thrown out at the plate trying to score on a wild pitch.

Louisiana actually lost its first game in the tournament, but the club battled back to win six straight and advance to the championship, becoming the first team to open the tournament with a loss but win the title since 2001.

With the victory, a team from the U.S. has won the Little League World Series title in consecutive years for the first time since 2009.