These Rangers awarded for '22 by local BBWAA

November 10th, 2022

ARLINGTON -- The Rangers announced their 2022 award winners, as voted on by the Dallas-Fort Worth chapter of the Baseball Writers' Association of America, on Thursday afternoon.

• Player of the Year: 1B Nathaniel Lowe
• Pitcher of the Year: LHP Martín Pérez
• Rookie of the Year: LHP
• Harold McKinney Good Guy: UTL
• Richard Durrett Hardest Working Player: C

Lowe, in his second year with the Rangers, ranked among the American League leaders in multiple offensive categories, including hits (fourth, 179), total bases (sixth, 292), batting average (seventh, .302), slugging (eighth, .492) and OPS (eighth, .850), all of which were team highs.

Lowe also hit 27 home runs with 76 RBIs in 157 games, becoming the first qualified .300 hitter for Texas since Elvis Andrus (.302) and Adrián Beltré (.300) in 2016. Lowe ranked fifth on the team in bWAR (3.3) and fWAR (3.0).

It’s the fourth time in club history that a first baseman has received the Player of the Year Award. Lowe joins Pete O’Brien (1985) and Rafael Palmeiro (1990 and 2000).

Pérez was named the club’s Pitcher of the Year after claiming his first career All-Star selection in 2022. He went 12-8 with a 2.89 ERA in 32 starts with Texas. He ranked fifth in the AL in innings (196 1/3), posted the league’s eighth-lowest ERA, and also led Texas’ staff in wins, starts and strikeouts (169).

He is the first left-hander to win the award since Mike Minor in 2019.

A career starter in the Minors, Burke had a breakout season as a reliever to secure the Rangers’ Rookie of the Year Award. The left-hander posted a 1.97 ERA and 90 strikeouts over 82 1/3 innings in 52 appearances. He led MLB in relief innings and ranked among the AL relief leaders in strikeouts (second), wins (tie for third) and ERA (ninth).

He is the first left-handed pitcher to earn the award since Pérez in 2013.

The Harold McKinney Good Guy Award is awarded annually by the DFW BBWAA Chapter to a player or staff member who has shown outstanding cooperation with the local media. Culberson is this year’s recipient. He hit .252 with two homers and 12 RBIs in 70 games as he played the utility position well, logging innings at all four infield positions and in left field. He also pitched in two games, posting a 0.00 ERA.

The Richard Durrett Hardest Working Player Award is presented annually to a player who demonstrates significant improvement over the previous season or seasons through hard work. Heim is this year’s recipient after slotting in to the starting role for the injured Mitch Garver. Heim hit .227 with 16 homers and 48 RBIs in 127 games.