Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Umpires for Wild Card Games, Division Series announced Darling, Kellogg Will Serve As Crew Chiefs for Wild Card Games; Davis, DeMuth, Gorman and West Assigned to Lead Division Series Crews

Major League Baseball has assigned the two umpiring crews assigned to the inaugural Wild Card Games presented by Budweiser, scheduled for Friday, and the four Division Series, scheduled to begin on Saturday and Sunday.  The Wild Card Game crew chiefs will be Gary Darling and Jeff Kellogg, and the Division Series crew chiefs will be Gerry Davis, Dana DeMuth, Brian Gorman and Joe West.

Kellogg, a crew chief with more than 20 years of Major League experience, will lead the crew assigned to Friday’s National League Wild Card Game between the St. Louis Cardinals and the Atlanta Braves at Atlanta’s Turner Field.  Kellogg’s crew will include regular season crew chiefs Mike Winters and Gary Cederstrom and Jeff Nelson, Sam Holbrook and Rob Drake.

Darling, a 26-year Major League Umpire, will oversee Friday’s American League Wild Card Game between the Baltimore Orioles and the Texas Rangers at Rangers Ballpark in Arlington.  Darling’s crew will include regular season crew chief Jerry Layne, Ted Barrett, Bill Miller, Greg Gibson and Chris Guccione.

Davis, a 29-year Major League Umpire, will serve as the crew chief for the NLDS beginning on Saturday between the Cincinnati Reds and the San Francisco Giants at AT&T Park in San Francisco.  He will be joined by Phil Cuzzi, Chad Fairchild, Tom Hallion, Dan Iassogna and Brian O’Nora.  West, a 35-year Major League Umpire, will work the NLDS involving the N.L. Wild Card Game winner and the Washington Nationals, beginning Sunday.  West’s crew includes Paul Emmel, Ed Hickox, Marvin Hudson, Jim Joyce and Alfonso Marquez.

DeMuth, a 29-year Major League Umpire, will lead the crew that works the ALDS between the Oakland Athletics and the Detroit Tigers at Comerica Park on Saturday.  DeMuth’s crew consists of Scott Barry, Wally Bell, Eric Cooper, Jim Reynolds and Mark Wegner.  The crew led by Gorman, a 21-year Major League Umpire, is assigned to the ALDS involving the A.L. Wild Card Game winner and the New York Yankees, beginning Sunday at Yankee Stadium, and includes Mark Carlson, Fieldin Culbreth, Mike Everitt, Angel Hernandez and Tony Randazzo.

TBS will air up to 18 of the potential Division Series games, while MLB Network will air a Division Series game on Sunday, October 7th and Wednesday, October 10th.  ESPN Radio will provide live national coverage of all 2012 MLB Postseason games, including the Wild Card Games.

Umpires for both League Championship Series and the 108th World Series will be announced before the start of each series.  A complete listing of the rotations assigned to the Wild Card Games and each Division Series follows.