Adrián Beltré elected to National Baseball Hall of Fame

January 23rd, 2024

Arlington, Texas—Adrián Beltré has been elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame in his first year on the ballot, it was announced this evening.

Beltré joins fellow 2024 electee, catcher Joe Mauer as the 59th and 60th players to be elected by the members of the Baseball Writers Association of America in their first years on the ballot. Beltré is the seventh third baseman to be so honored, joining Brooks Robinson (1983), Mike Schmidt (1995), George Brett (1999), Paul Molitor (2004), Wade Boggs (2005), and Chipper Jones (2018).

Beltré and Mauer join first baseman Todd Helton as 2024 BBWAA Hall of Fame selections. They will join former manager Jim Leyland in the induction ceremonies for the Class of 2024 on Sunday, July 21 in Cooperstown, New York.

“On behalf of the entire Texas Rangers organization, I want to congratulate Adrián Beltré on his election to the National Baseball Hall of Fame,” said Rangers’ Managing Partner & Majority Owner Ray Davis. “For more than two decades, Adrián excelled both offensively and defensively as one of the top third basemen in Major League history. His competitiveness and desire to be in the lineup every day, no matter the circumstances, earned him the utmost respect and admiration from his peers.

“We were privileged to have him as a member of the Rangers for the final eight seasons of his remarkable career. Through his excellence on the field and influence in the clubhouse, Adrián’s contributions in helping lead the Rangers to four playoff appearances were immense. He is a true legend in the game.” 

Beltré received 366 of the 385 votes submitted by qualifying BBWAA members for 95.1%, the 19th player to receive at least 95% of the vote and the highest total since Derek Jeter in 2020 (99.75%) A total 289 votes (75%) were needed for election.

Overall, Beltré becomes the 19th third baseman to join the National Baseball Hall of Fame, the tenth selected in BBWAA voting. Pie Traynor (1948), Eddie Mathews (1978), and Scott Rolen (2023) join the six players listed above. Beltré becomes the first-ever Hall of Fame third baseman born outside of the United States.

Born on April 7, 1979, he will become the second youngest current Hall of Fame member behind Mauer, whose birthdate is April 19, 1983.

Beltré is the ninth player and first infielder who wore a Texas Rangers uniform to be elected to the Hall of Fame, joining Ferguson Jenkins (1991), Gaylord Perry (1991), Nolan Ryan (1999), Rich Gossage (2008), Bert Blyleven (2011), Ivan Rodriguez (2017), Vladimir Guerrero (2018), and Harold Baines (2019). Ryan, who pitched for the Rangers from 1989-93, and Rodriguez, who was with the club from 1991-2002 and 2008, are the only Hall of Famers with a Rangers cap adorning their plaques. Ryan and Rodriguez are also the only previous Rangers players elected to the Hall of Fame on the first ballot.

Other Hall of Famers with Rangers connections are managers Ted Williams (1966) and Whitey Herzog (2010) and coach Nellie Fox (1987). Two other Hall of Famers with franchise ties were with the expansion Washington Senators: Minnie Minoso and manager Gil Hodges (both 2022).

Beltré becomes the fifth native of the Dominican Republic to be elected to the Hall of Fame, joining Juan Marichal (1983), Pedro Martinez (2015), Vladimir Guerrero (2018), and David Ortiz (2022). Martinez and Ortiz were also elected on the first ballot.

Beltré batted .286 with 477 home runs and 1707 RBI in 2933 Major League games with Los Angeles-NL (1998-2004), Seattle (2005-09), Boston (2010), and Texas (2011-18). Beltré’s 2759 games at third base are second most in Major League history to Brooks Robinson (2870). He was a five-time recipient of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award at third base and earned four American League All-Star honors in a 21-year Major League career.

Beltré’s complete career bio is attached.