These are the finalists for Gold Glove Awards

October 24th, 2019

The finalists -- three at each position in each league -- for the 2019 Gold Glove Awards were revealed by Rawlings.


José Berríos, Twins
Mike Leake, Mariners
Lucas Giolito, White Sox

The AL will have a first-time Gold Glove Award winner at pitcher. Neither Giolito, nor Berríos, nor the 10-year veteran Leake has won the award. The AL award for pitchers was locked down by Dallas Keuchel and Marcus Stroman in recent years, but they're both in the NL now.

Danny Jansen, Blue Jays
Christian Vázquez, Red Sox
Roberto Pérez, Indians

The rookie Jansen could win a Gold Glove Award in his first full big league season. Pérez led all MLB catchers with 29 defensive runs saved. Vázquez caught 22 of 58 basestealers, with his 38% clip ranking among the league leaders.

Yuli Gurriel, Astros
Matt Olson, A's
Justin Smoak, Blue Jays

Olson is the reigning winner at first base and part of a stellar Oakland infield -- his 13 defensive runs saved led all MLB first basemen. Gurriel has anchored the first-base position for the Astros on their run to the World Series. Both he and Smoak would be first-time winners.

José Altuve, Astros
DJ LeMahieu, Yankees
Yolmer Sánchez, White Sox

Both Altuve and LeMahieu have been Gold Glove second basemen -- Altuve won in the AL in 2015 and LeMahieu won three times in the NL, including in each of the past two seasons. LeMahieu played all over the infield in his first season with the Yankees, but he's up for a fourth Gold Glove Award at his natural position. Sánchez would be a first-time winner.

Alex Bregman, Astros
David Fletcher, Angels
Matt Chapman, A's

Chapman won the AL Gold Glove Award last year, and it was probably the first of many for the 26-year-old, who's one of the best overall defenders in the sport. Bregman showed his versatility by filling in for the injured Carlos Correa at shortstop before returning to the hot corner for the AL champs. Fletcher was a pleasant surprise for the Angels in his first full season.

Marcus Semien, A's
Andrelton Simmons, Angels
Francisco Lindor, Indians

Simmons has been one of the premier defensive players in the game for a long time -- he has four Gold Glove Awards to his name, and he's won for the Angels in the AL in each of the past two seasons. Lindor is a Gold Glover, being the last winner before Simmons in 2016. Semien was a breakout AL Most Valuable Player Award candidate for the A's this year, and part of that was his defensive effort. He joins teammates Chapman and Olson as AL infield nominees.

Robbie Grossman, A's
Alex Gordon, Royals
Andrew Benintendi, Red Sox

Gordon, who may or may not return in 2020, seeks his third straight AL Gold Glove Award in left field, and his seventh overall. Grossman had a great defensive campaign in his first year with the A’s, and Benintendi continued to shine defensively despite his offensive numbers declining from '18.

Kevin Kiermaier, Rays
Mike Trout, Angels
Jackie Bradley Jr., Red Sox

With all the hardware sitting on Trout’s shelf, a Gold Glove Award isn’t up there -- yet. The best all-around player in baseball somehow continues to improve, and his defense is Exhibit A. Keirmaier, meanwhile, is seeking his third Gold Glove Award and his first since 2016. He led AL center fielders with 13 defensive runs saved. Bradley wowed the baseball world with more incredible plays and is poised for a second straight Gold Glove Award.

Kole Calhoun, Angels
Mookie Betts, Red Sox
Josh Reddick, Astros

As Betts continues to build his resume as one of the best players in the game, he’s already seeking his fourth Gold Glove Award in six big league seasons. He was second in the AL with 15 defensive runs saved. Reddick was third with nine; this would be his second career Gold Glove Award -- he first won one in 2012. Calhoun is also looking for his second Gold Glove Award, which would be his first since '15.


Jack Flaherty, Cardinals
Zack Greinke, D-backs
Aaron Nola, Phillies

Greinke has been a perennial Gold Glove Award finalist, and he is going for his sixth consecutive NL award. If he wins it again this year, his streak will continue, but he’ll have to win in the AL next year, as his contract is through the 2021 season and he’s now pitching for the Astros. Nola is looking for his first Gold Glove Award, while Flaherty seeks to win as a rookie after a stellar first full Major League season for the Cardinals.

Austin Hedges, Padres
Yadier Molina, Cardinals
J.T. Realmuto, Phillies

Molina won eight straight Gold Glove Awards from 2009-16. He won again last year and is poised for his 10th award. Realmuto had a tremendous season behind the plate, throwing out an MLB-best 47% of runners attempting to steal. Already considered the best all-around catcher in the game, he seeks his first Gold Glove Award. Hedges also had a strong season throwing out runners, catching 33% of them. He’s also seeking his first Gold Glove Award.

Christian Walker, D-backs
Paul Goldschmidt, Cardinals
Anthony Rizzo, Cubs

Goldschmidt (three Gold Glove Awards) and Rizzo (two) have alternated winning the NL honor since 2015. Walker, Goldschmidt’s replacement in Arizona, led NL first basemen with nine defensive runs saved.

Ozzie Albies, Braves
Kolten Wong, Cardinals
Adam Frazier, Pirates

Wong is the runaway leader in defensive runs saved among Major League second basemen, with 14. Albies is second in the NL with eight and Frazier is third with six. Regardless of which one of them takes the Gold Glove Award, there will be a new winner in the NL.

Nolan Arenado, Rockies
Anthony Rendon, Nationals
Josh Donaldson, Braves

Arenado has been the gold standard at the hot corner in the NL, winning the Gold Glove Award there in each of his six big league seasons. Rendon has made some sparkling defensive plays this postseason and Donaldson led the NL with 15 defensive runs saved.

Paul DeJong, Cardinals
Trevor Story, Rockies
Nick Ahmed, D-backs

Ahmed is in line to make it two straight Gold Glove Awards for him; his 18 defensive runs saved this season led the NL. Story was right behind him with 17 and DeJong led the NL with an 11.4 UZR, making this competition a tight one. DeJong and Story would be first-time Gold Glove Award winners.

Juan Soto, Nationals
David Peralta, D-backs
Hunter Renfroe, Padres

Though the major focus on Soto has been his phenomenal performance at the plate, he was great defensively as well, and he is seeking his first Gold Glove Award in his age-20 season. Peralta led all NL left fielders with 10 defensive runs saved. Renfroe finished second, with seven. All three would be first-time winners.

Victor Robles, Nationals
Lorenzo Cain, Brewers
Harrison Bader, Cardinals

Talk about an incredible group. As as rookie, Robles led all MLB center fielders with 22 defensive runs saved. He also led all outfielders with 21 outs above average, according to Statcast. Cain was right behind him with 20 defensive runs saved, and Bader was third with 13. Bader led all center fielders with a 12.9 UZR.

Bryce Harper, Phillies
Jason Heyward, Cubs
Cody Bellinger, Dodgers

Bellinger finished tied with the Yankees' Aaron Judge for the most defensive runs saved among right fielders in the Majors, with 19. Harper was third, with nine, and Heyward’s seven had him tied for fourth. Harper is a star who has been decorated with several awards over the years, including the 2015 NL MVP Award, but he has yet to win a Gold Glove. Bellinger is an NL MVP Award candidate this year, and he is looking for his first Gold Glove honor as well. Heyward has dominated the award in right field in recent years, and he is seeking his sixth.