Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

2013 National Baseball Hall of Fame election results to air live on January 9

Costas, Amsinger, Gammons, Heyman, Kenny, Leiter, Millar, Reynolds, Rosenthal, Verducci & Watney on Hall of Fame Coverage Starting at 12:00 p.m. ET <br><br>MLB Network to Air Special 2013 Hall of Fame Roundtable Show on Tuesday, January 8 at 9:00 p.m. ET

The results of the 2013 National Baseball Hall of Fame ballot will be announced live exclusively on MLB Network and simulcast on on Wednesday, January 9 at 2:00 p.m. ET as part of a three-hour announcement show beginning at 12:00 p.m. ET. Featuring National Baseball Hall of Fame President Jeff Idelson, coverage will include interviews with electees and be anchored by Greg Amsinger, Brian Kenny and Heidi Watney with MLB Network’s Bob Costas, Al Leiter, Kevin Millar, Harold Reynolds, Hall of Fame award-winning baseball writer Peter Gammons, and Hall of Fame voters Jon Heyman, Ken Rosenthal and Tom Verducci. Hall of Fame coverage and reaction will continue on MLB Network’s Intentional Talk and MLB Tonight starting live at 5:00 p.m. ET. 

MLB Network will air a special Hall of Fame Roundtable show on Tuesday, January 8 at 9:00 p.m. ET, featuring Costas, Leiter, Reynolds, Verducci, Sports on Earth senior columnist Joe Posnanski and SiriusXM sports radio host Chris “Mad Dog” Russo discussing the highly-debated 2013 ballot.   

The Baseball Writers' Association of America (BBWAA) 2013 Hall of Fame ballot features 37 candidates with 13 holdovers from previous elections, including Jeff Bagwell, Jack Morris, Tim Raines and Lee Smith, and 24 newcomers, including Craig Biggio, Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Mike Piazza, Curt Schilling and Sammy Sosa.

Umpire Hank O’Day, Yankees owner Jacob Ruppert and 19th Century catcher and third baseman Deacon White were elected to the Hall of Fame in December by the Pre-Integration Era Committee. O’Day, Ruppert and White will be inducted along with any candidates who receive votes on at least 75 percent of all ballots cast from next Wednesday's BBWAA vote. The late Toronto Blue Jays broadcaster Tom Cheek, who called the first 4,306 regular season games and 41 Postseason games in Toronto Blue Jays history, has been selected as the 2013 recipient of the Ford C. Frick Award presented annually for excellence in baseball broadcasting. senior correspondent Paul Hagen, who has covered baseball for nearly four decades, has been named the 2013 winner of the J.G. Taylor Spink Award presented annually to a sportswriter for "meritorious contributions to baseball writing.”

The 2013 election marks the 70th Hall of Fame election held by the BBWAA. The 2013 National Baseball Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will air exclusively on MLB Network on July 28.