Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

All-Star Game Final Vote sponsored by (#finalvote) now under way; Twitter voting returns to Final Vote Thursday, July 11

NEW YORK, July 6, 2013 - American and National League All-Star Team managers Jim Leyland and Bruce Bochy, in conjunction with Major League Baseball, announced the candidates for the 2013 All-Star Game Final Vote Sponsored by (#FinalVote), which is held exclusively on, the official website of Major League Baseball, and the individual Club websites.

On Thursday, closed the 2013 All-Star Game Ballot Sponsored by with the second-highest single day of online balloting as 3.8 million ballots were cast, setting the stage for the five furious days of online-only voting for the two remaining All-Star roster spots among the following 10 players:

American League

Joaquin Benoit (DET) - #BackBenoit (A1)

Steve Delabar (TOR) - #RaiseTheBar (A2)

David Robertson (NYY) - #HighSocksForVotes (A3)

Tanner Scheppers (TEX) - #TakeTanner (A4)

Koji Uehara (BOS) - #HighFiveCiti (A5)

National League

Ian Desmond (WSH) - #DesiIn13 (N1)

Freddie Freeman (ATL) - #Vote Freddie (N2)

Adrian Gonzalez (LAD) - #VoteTitan (N3)

Hunter Pence (SF) - #VotePence (N4)

Yasiel Puig (LAD) - #VotePuig (N5)

 Fans began casting votes for the All-Star Game Final Vote Sponsored by on and the Club sites immediately following tonight's All-Star Selection Show presented by Taco Bell on FOX and can continue voting until 4 p.m. (EDT) on Thursday, July 11. The winners, as chosen exclusively by online fan voting totals, will be announced on shortly thereafter.

In addition to the web, fans can use their mobile phones to cast votes via the mobile web at or via text message. To receive the All-Star Game Final Vote Sponsored by mobile ballot, text the word "VOTE" to 89269. To vote for a specific player, fans can text the choice to 89269. EXAMPLE: Text "A3" to vote for AL Player 3 or "N3" to vote for NL Player 3. Standard message and data rates may apply. Mobile voting in Canada also is available and fans should text their choices to 101010.


For the second consecutive year, the All-Star Game Final Vote will include a social balloting element as Twitter support from the 10 candidates' fans over the last six hours of balloting will count toward their final vote totals. From 10 a.m. - 4 p.m. (EDT) on Thursday, July 11, any tweet that includes a designated player hashtag (noted above) will be tabulated as part of the official vote total used to determine the American League and National League winners. Fans will be able to follow @MLB on the popular social networking service for the latest standings updates over the course of the entire five-day voting period.

"Much like, works to be where its members are," said Renee Borsack, director of sponsorships and events with "That's why we are pleased to sponsor the All-Star Game Final Vote, which can be accessed in a variety of ways through a multi-platform digital media format making it easy for people to cast their votes for their favorite players."


Baseball fans have cast more than 350 million online votes for Final Vote candidates since the program's inception in 2002. In recognition of this milepost, is giving eligible voters a 14-day free trial of MLB.TV from July 12-26, 2013. Current MLB.TV subscribers will receive a discount to the Shop. Fans will receive an e-mail notifying them of the instructions for redeeming their respective All-Star Final Vote offers.

The 84th All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX Sports; in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and RDS; and worldwide by partners in more than 200 countries via MLB International's independent feed. Pregame ceremonies will begin at 7:30 p.m. (EDT). ESPN Radio and ESPN Radio Deportes will provide exclusive national radio coverage of the All-Star Game. MLB Network, and Sirius XM also will provide comprehensive All-Star Week coverage. For more information, please visit or



American League

Jeremy Bonderman (2007)

Jonathan Broxton (2012)

Eric Byrnes (2003)

Eric Chavez (2002)

Carl Crawford (2005)

Johnny Damon (2002*)

Yu Darvish (2012*)

Jermaine Dye (2008)

Darin Erstad (2002)

Kelvim Escobar (2007)

Chone Figgins (2009)

Lew Ford (2004)

Ernesto Frieri (2012)

Jason Giambi (2003, 2008)

Alex Gordon (2011)

Jose Guillen (2008)

Travis Hafner (2004, 2006)

Roy Halladay (2007)

Jason Hammel (2012)

Ramon Hernandez (2006)

Torii Hunter (2005)

Brandon Inge (2009*)

Derek Jeter (2005)

Adam Jones (2011)

Ian Kinsler (2009)

Paul Konerko (2004, 2010, 2011*)

Adam Lind (2009)

Francisco Liriano (2006)

Evan Longoria (2008*)

Victor Martinez (2011)

Hideki Matsui (2004*, 2005)

Bengie Molina (2003)

Pat Neshek (2007)

Hideki Okajima (2007*)

Magglio Ordonez (2002)

Jake Peavy (2012)

Carlos Pena (2009)

A.J. Pierzynski (2006*)

Scott Podsednik (2005*)

Brian Roberts (2008)

Nick Swisher (2010*)

Frank Thomas (2003, 2004)

Jim Thome (2002)

Jason Varitek (2003*)

Justin Verlander (2006)

Kevin Youkilis (2010)

Delmon Young (2010)

Michael Young (2010)

Ben Zobrist (2011)

National League

Bobby Abreu (2004*, 2006)

Heath Bell (2010)

Michael Bourn (2012)

Pat Burrell (2008)

Orlando Cabrera (2003)

Chris Capuano (2006)

Luis Castillo (2003)

Andre Ethier (2011)

Steve Finley (2004)

David Freese (2012*)

Nomar Garciaparra (2006*)

Brian Giles (2002)

Carlos Gonzalez (2010)

Tom Gorzelanny (2007)

Cristian Guzman (2009)

Bryce Harper (2012)

Corey Hart (2008*)

Todd Helton (2011)

Aaron Hill (2012)

Trevor Hoffman (2005)

Geoff Jenkins (2003*)

Andruw Jones (2002*)

Chipper Jones (2012)

Matt Kemp (2009)

Jason Kendall (2004)

Ian Kennedy (2011)

Ryan Klesko (2002)

Carlos Lee (2008)

Kenny Lofton (2003)

Mike Morse (2011)

Brett Myers (2005)

Roy Oswalt (2005*, 2007)

Corey Patterson (2003)

Juan Pierre (2004)

Albert Pujols (2002)

Aramis Ramirez (2004)

Mark Reynolds (2009)

Aaron Rowand (2008)

Pablo Sandoval (2009)

Benito Santiago (2003)

Shane Victorino (2009*, 2011*)

Joey Votto (2010*)

Billy Wagner (2005, 2006, 2010)

Larry Walker (2002)

Brandon Webb (2005, 2007)

David Wright (2008)

Chris Young (2006, 2007*)

Carlos Zambrano (2007)

Ryan Zimmerman (2010)