Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

New leader at SS in latest All-Star vote

O's in line for three starters; Miggy leading all AL vote-getters

The Orioles are making noise again in the American League East, and they're making a few loud statements in the latest All-Star Game voting results as well.

Outfielder Adam Jones and shortstop J.J. Hardy vaulted to the top of the leaderboard at their respective positions in a voting update released Saturday, joining first baseman Chris Davis to give Baltimore three players in position to start the 84th Midsummer Classic as of the latest look at the balloting.

Detroit's Miguel Cabrera, a Triple Crown threat again in 2013, continues to lead all vote-getters in the American League, upping his total to 2,355,128 as the runaway leader at third base. Davis, who leads the Majors in home runs and is second only to Cabrera in RBIs and batting average in the AL, is a strong second with 2,084,274 as voting continues at a sizzling pace.

Fans can cast their votes for starters at and all 30 club sites -- online or on a mobile device -- using the 2013 All-Star Game Ballot until Thursday, July 4, at 11:59 p.m. ET. The 2013 All-Star Game will be played at Citi Field on Tuesday, July 16.

Fans may submit up to 25 online ballots, but can also earn a one-time bonus of 10 additional online ballots. To access these additional online ballots, you must be logged into your account when you submit any online ballot. If you do not have an account, register on the site in accordance with the enrollment instructions for a free account.

Obviously, Orioles fans are getting out the vote in a big way for their players. Jones moved past second-year star Mike Trout of the Angels, the leader after the first voting update, by the narrowest of margins, taking the top outfield spot with 1,944,450 votes to Trout's 1,939,486. Hardy, meanwhile, leapfrogged Elvis Andrus of the Rangers and built up some breathing room with 1,231,843 votes to Andrus' 1,045,885.

At other positions, Davis has a sizeable lead at first base over Detroit's Prince Fielder, Robinson Cano (1,851,371) leads at second with Dustin Pedroia of the Red Sox overtaking the Rangers' Ian Kinsler for the No. 2 spot, and Cabrera is well ahead of Orioles young star Manny Machado at third base. At designated hitter, David Ortiz of the Red Sox continues to rise above the rest with a big lead over Lance Berkman of the Rangers.

While Jones and Trout are starting to pull away at the top of the outfield voting, the Tigers' Torii Hunter is in the coveted No. 3 spot, which will round out the All-Star starting outfield. But Hunter (1,067,973) has a lot of competition, with the Orioles' Nick Markakis, the Blue Jays' Jose Bautista and the Rangers' Nelson Cruz all within 60,000 votes of the Detroit veteran.

Astros second baseman Jose Altuve and A's third baseman Josh Donaldson broke into top five in their position battles as their fans exercised the right to vote early and vote often -- and do so in many ways.

Fans this year once again can participate in the Home Run Derby Fan Poll. Fans will have the opportunity to select three players in each league who they would most like to see participate in the Home Run Derby. The 2013 Home Run Derby -- part of Gatorade All-Star Workout Day -- will be broadcast live on ESPN, ESPN HD, ESPN Deportes and ESPN Radio in the United States beginning at 8 p.m. ET on Monday, July 15.

The 2013 American League and National League All-Star teams will be unveiled on Sunday, July 7, on the 2013 MLB All-Star Game Selection Show, televised nationally on TBS. Baseball fans around the world will then be able to select the final player on each team via the All-Star Game Final Vote sponsored by on

And the voting doesn't end there. The final phase of All-Star Game voting will again have fans participating in the voting for the Ted Williams All-Star Game Most Valuable Player Award presented by Chevrolet. During the Midsummer Classic, fans will vote exclusively online at via the 2013 All-Star Game MVP Vote, and their voice will represent 20 percent of the overall vote that determines the recipient of the Arch Ward Trophy. will provide extensive online coverage of the All-Star Week festivities.

The 84th All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX, in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and RDS, and worldwide by partners in more than 200 countries via MLB International's independent feed. ESPN Radio and ESPN Radio Deportes will provide national radio coverage of the All-Star Game. MLB Network and SiriusXM also will also provide comprehensive All-Star Week coverage. For more information, please visit

(as of June 8)

Joe Mauer, Twins: 1,492,396
Matt Wieters, Orioles: 1,153,795
Carlos Santana, Indians: 723,119
A.J. Pierzynski, Rangers: 697,403
Jarrod Saltalamacchia, Red Sox: 509,712

Chris Davis, Orioles: 2,084,274
Prince Fielder, Tigers: 1,469,537
Mike Napoli, Red Sox: 552,845
Albert Pujols, Angels: 531,138
Mitch Moreland, Rangers: 513,722

Robinson Cano, Yankees: 1,851,371
Dustin Pedroia, Red Sox: 1,106,949
Ian Kinsler, Rangers: 900,950
Omar Infante, Tigers: 621,202
Jose Altuve, Astros: 488,466

Miguel Cabrera, Tigers: 2,355,128
Manny Machado, Orioles: 1,170,108
Adrian Beltre, Rangers: 845,540
Evan Longoria, Rays: 657,056
Josh Donaldson, Athletics: 355,693

J.J. Hardy, Orioles: 1,231,843
Elvis Andrus, Rangers: 1,045,885
Jhonny Peralta, Tigers: 915,400
Jed Lowrie, Athletics: 803,972
Derek Jeter, Yankees: 529,234

David Ortiz, Red Sox: 1,716,410
Lance Berkman, Rangers: 957,618
Mark Reynolds, Indians: 622,977
Edwin Encarnacion, Blue Jays: 554,337
Mark Trumbo, Angels: 551,942

Adam Jones, Orioles 1,944,450
Mike Trout, Angels 1,939,486
Torii Hunter, Tigers 1,067,973
Nick Markakis, Orioles 1,030,653
Jose Bautista, Blue Jays 1,021,813
Nelson Cruz, Rangers 1,011,198
Nate McLouth, Orioles 918,359
Alex Gordon, Royals 789,488
Jacoby Ellsbury, Red Sox 714,716
Yoenis Cespedes, Athletics 652,702
Coco Crisp, Athletics 643,532
Josh Hamilton, Angels 564,417
Austin Jackson, Tigers 538,178
Shane Victorino, Red Sox 499,413
Ichiro Suzuki, Yankees 477,870

John Schlegel is a national reporter for
Read More: Adam Jones, J.J. Hardy, Chris Davis, Miguel Cabrera