Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Caribbean Series returns to Venezuela in 2014

HERMOSILLO, Mexico -- Next up, Venezuela.

For 2014, as part of its rotation through the four nations involved, the Caribbean Series returns to Margarita, a large island on the northeast coast of Venezuela and home to Estadio Guatamare. The Caribbean Series debuted at the ballpark in 2010, with the Dominican Republic's Leones del Escogido being crowned champions.

Since its inaugural year in 1949, the Caribbean Series has been held in Venezuela 14 times, and only twice -- in 1970 with Magallanes, and in 2006 with Caracas -- has it won the title as the host country.

"With the experience we had in 2010, we're sure we can put together a quality event that can surpass anything done in Venezuela in recent years," Venezuelan Professional Baseball League president Jose Grasso said in Spanish on Thursday. "The eight-team [Venezuelan] League, especially the local Bravos de Margarita, will work very hard to organize the event."

The Caribbean Series, taking place at the new Estadio Sonora in North Mexico this year, will rotate to Puerto Rico in 2015 and the Dominican Republic in '16.