Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Fans can vote to help determine Classic's MVP

NEW YORK -- Given what the digital portion of baseball's fan base put itself through last week with the Final Vote, it seems reasonable to assume that everyone's hands are still in online voting shape.

At least, enough to go through the exercise one last time.

This time, fans can help determine the Most Valuable Player of the All-Star Game.

The 84th All-Star Game is being televised nationally by FOX Sports, in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and RDS and worldwide by partners in more than 200 countries via MLB International's independent feed. ESPN Radio and ESPN Radio Deportes are providing national radio coverage of the All-Star Game. MLB Network and SiriusXM are also providing comprehensive All-Star Week coverage. For more information, please visit

So while watching the game, be sure to log onto now through the end of the Midsummer Classic to vote for the Ted Williams All-Star Game Most Valuable Player Award presented by Chevrolet via the 2013 All-Star Game MVP Vote sponsored by T-Mobile. The winner of the award will be announced at the end of the game, and fans' ballots will represent 20 percent of the official vote determining the winner.

Immediately following the conclusion of the All-Star Game, the winner will receive the Arch Ward Trophy, which was first presented in 1962 as a tribute to the man who founded the All-Star Game in 1933. That first presentation went to Leon Wagner of the Los Angeles Angels and to Maury Wills of the Los Angeles Dodgers, because two All-Star Games per year were played in those days.

These days, of course, there's only one game, and there can be only one MVP. And who that winner in will be, in part, is up to you. Join us, won't you?

These are the players who have won the award since fan voting was introduced in 2003:

2003: Garret Anderson, Angels

2004: Alfonso Soriano, Rangers

2005: Miguel Tejada, Orioles

2006: Michael Young, Rangers

2007: Ichiro Suzuki, Mariners

2008: J.D. Drew, Red Sox

2009: Carl Crawford, Rays

2010: Brian McCann, Braves

2011: Prince Fielder, Brewers

2012: Melky Cabrera, Giants

Alyson Footer is a national correspondent for Follow her on Twitter @alysonfooter.