Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

MLB game times announced for 2014 season

Campaign begins with pair of games between Dodgers and D-backs in Australia

The stage is set. Major League Baseball released game times for the 2014 regular season on Wednesday, a campaign that will kick off with the MLB Opening Series games in Australia.

The D-backs and Dodgers will play two games in Sydney, Australia, a week before the rest of the teams experience Opening Day. Arizona and Los Angeles will play on March 22 at 12 a.m. PT, and again at 6 p.m. PT (which will be March 23 locally in Australia).

The Dodgers will also be part of the first game for ESPN's "Sunday Night Baseball" program. Los Angeles will hit the road to San Diego to play the Padres at 5:05 p.m. PT on March 30.

Opening Day will come for the rest of the league on March 31, a day that will have 13 Major League games on the schedule. The first day with a full slate of 15 games will be played on April 2, and the final day of the regular season -- which features 12 divisional matchups -- will come on Sept. 28.

The Rangers and Phillies will play the first Interleague series, a three-game set at Rangers Ballpark in Arlington that will kick off the 18th year of regular-season play between the American and National Leagues. Texas and Philadelphia will play on March 31 at 1:05 p.m. CT, and April 1 and April 2 at 7:05 p.m. CT.

Fans won't have to wait long to see a reprise of last season's playoff matchups. The defending World Series champion Red Sox will kick off a series against the Tigers in a rematch of the AL Championship Series on Friday, May 16, at 7:10 p.m. ET. The Cardinals and Dodgers, who squared off in last year's NL Championship Series, will meet in Los Angeles for a four-game set starting June 26 at 7:10 p.m. PT.

Jackie Robinson Day, the annual celebration of the day the sporting and civil rights icon broke Major League Baseball's color barrier in 1947, will be celebrated on April 15 with Robinson's old team, the Dodgers, matched against the rival Giants at 7:15 p.m. PT.

The Astros will play host to the Orioles at 6:10 p.m. CT on May 30 for the eighth annual Civil Rights Game, and the 2014 All-Star Game will take place at Minnesota's Target Field on July 15.

This year, Interleague series between prime rivals will be played in the form of four-game home-and-home series. The Cubs and White Sox will play each other from May 5-8, with the first two at Wrigley Field (7:05 p.m. CT start times) and the last two at U.S. Cellular Field (7:10 p.m. CT starts).

Some of the other series between prime rivals will take place in June and July, but the Dodgers and Angels won't meet until the first week of August. The Dodgers will play host to the Angels on Aug. 4 and 5 at 7:10 p.m. PT, and then the Angels will host the Dodgers the next two nights at 7:05 p.m. PT.

Spencer Fordin is a reporter for