Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Orioles hold pair of intrasquad games

SARASOTA, Fla. -- The Orioles held a pair of intrasquad games Wednesday, with each pitcher throwing a frame in the three-inning contests on the back fields of Ed Smith Stadium.

The pitchers who threw were Steve Johnson, Zach Clark, Mike Wright, Todd Redmond, Dylan Bundy, T.J. McFarland, Tommy Hunter, Zach Britton, Adam Russell, Jake Arietta, Brian Matusz and Jair Jurrjens. Minor League callups for the intrasquad games were outfielders Glynn Davis, Brenden Webb and Johnny Ruettiger and infielders Buck Britton, Adrian Marin and Ty Kelly to help fill out the lineups.

Brian Roberts got a nice round of applause when he stepped in the batter's box and drove in Nate McLouth, who doubled, with an RBI single off Britton.

"It's nice," manager Buck Showalter said of Roberts getting a hit in his first at-bat. "I don't think it surprises anybody. I know Zach wasn't too happy about it. The thing about this is if it's someone is hitting well in intrasquad, there's someone on the other side of it. ... There's no way out of it. There were some very good plays in the outfield."

Bundy gave up a leadoff single to Chris Dickerson, who was later picked off by catcher Luis Exposito, and retired the next two batters, while Chris Davis hit an opposite-field homer off Hunter. Matusz looked particularly good in his inning of work, while Manny Machado had a long flyout to the fence.

"I'm not worried about velocity and stuff like that. It's more about guys getting in sync and getting the butterflies out of the way," Showalter said. "You'd like to see -- when we get through tomorrow -- a lot of people get on the mound that need to."

Thursday's intrasquad game will start at 1:05 p.m. ET and be six innings on the main Ed Smith Stadium field, and it's still undecided whether that game will be open to the public. Thursday's pitchers are scheduled to be Mark Hendrickson, Troy Patton, Daniel Schlereth, Eduardo Rodriguez, Chris Tillman, Pedro Strop, Daniel McCutchen, Mike Belfiore and Kevin Gausman.