Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Royals, Braves feature top Defensive Players

Handed out since 2012, the Wilson Defensive Player of The Year Award winners were unveiled live on MLB Network on Wednesday night.

The awards cover the best defensive players in the Majors at each position as well as the best defensive team, as determined by a formula that balances scouting information, sabermetric analysis and basic fielding statistics. Braves right fielder Jason Heyward was named the overall Defensive Player of the Year, and the Cincinnati Reds claimed Defensive Team of the Year honors.

Wilson baseball gloves

Last year, one player from each club was honored, but Dustin Pedroia of the Red Sox and Gerardo Parra, then of the D-backs, came away as the top defensive players in the American and National Leagues, respectively.

Video: The Reds win the award for Best Defensive Team

Below is the full list of this year's winners:

1B: Adrian Gonzalez, Los Angeles Dodgers
2B: Ian Kinsler, Detroit Tigers
SS: Andrelton Simmons, Atlanta Braves
3B: Juan Uribe, Los Angeles Dodgers
LF: Alex Gordon, Kansas City Royals
CF: Lorenzo Cain, Kansas City Royals
RF: Jason Heyward, Atlanta Braves
P: Johnny Cueto, Cincinnati Reds
C: Russell Martin, Pittsburgh Pirates

Defensive Team of the Year: Cincinnati Reds

Overall 2014 Defensive Player of the Year: Heyward