Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Tom Werner to be honored with "Dave Winfield Humanitarian" Award

At Professional Baseball Scouts Foundation's 10th Annual "In the Spirit of the Game" Spectacular

LOS ANGELES, CA (November 14, 2012) – Television Producer and Chairman of the Boston Red Sox, Tom Werner, will be honored at the "In the Spirit of the Game" Sports and Entertainment Spectacular as the recipient of the "Dave Winfield Humanitarian" Award. Werner's leadership and dedication to the game will be recognized at the Foundation's 10th annual affair at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel on Saturday, Jan. 12, 2013.

Werner will be presented with the award by its namesake, Hall of Famer Dave Winfield, who spent 22 years in the Majors.  Dodgers' manager Don Mattingly will receive the Tommy Lasorda managerial award and Dodger broadcaster Vin Scully will be honored with the Bud Selig Executive Leadership Award.

Prior to becoming a baseball owner, Werner created some of the top television hits, including "The Cosby Show," "Roseanne," "Third Rock from the Sun" and "That '70s Show".  He then turned his love for baseball into becoming an owner of the San Diego Padres and later Chairman of the Boston Red Sox.

Born in New York, Werner's passion for baseball began early on when he played the game during his childhood and later coached his own children in their youth baseball leagues. His love for the Boston Red Sox began while he attended Harvard. Werner began his television career in 1973 when he worked for ABC-TV. Just two years later he became the Director of East Coast Prime Time Development and in 1979 he was promoted to senior vice president of the prime-time development department. While at ABC, Werner met Marcy Carsey, and together the pair launched shows including "Mork and Mindy," Bosom Buddies" and "Taxi."

Werner and his company, The Carsey-Werner Company, has received many accolades in the television industry including the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Producers Guild of America, 24 Emmy Awards, 11 People's Choice Awards and numerous Golden Globes.

His entry into Major League Baseball took place in 1990 when he led a group that purchased the San Diego Padres. He served as a member of the Executive Council and Chairman of the Television Committee and helped establish the Wild Card. In 2001, Werner led a group in bidding for the Red Sox. Werner and his group were committed to preserving Fenway Park, America's Most Beloved Ballpark, which celebrated its 100th anniversary in 2012.

After the purchase of the team, they created The Red Sox Foundation which has made large charitable donations and contributed millions of dollars each year to different foundations. They helped create the Home Base Program to help military veterans that have experienced post-traumatic stress disorder and brain injuries. Werner and the Red Sox Organization have also been involved in creating the Teddy Ebersol-Red Sox Fields, which are used by thousands of children.

The Professional Baseball Scouts Foundation has helped baseball scouts in need due to job loss, illness or financial hardships over the past nine years through the success of the annual "In the Spirit of the Game" Sports and Entertainment Spectacular. Dennis Gilbert heads the foundation that has raised in excess of $1 million to support scouts in need.  

The event has honored many legendary baseball Hall of Fame players, managers, scouts, coaches and executives, including Willie Mays, Reggie Jackson, Frank Robinson, Duke Snider, Sandy Koufax, Bob Feller, Brooks Robinson, Cal Ripken, Jr., Tony Gwynn, Dave Winfield, Tony LaRussa, Bobby Cox and Robin Roberts as well as Goose Gossage, Whitey Herzog, Eric Gagne, Curt Schilling, Olympic Gold Medalist Jennie Finch, the Boone Family, the Brett family, the Alou family, the Buddy Bell family, the Manny Mota family, Major League Baseball executive Pat Gillick, Preston Gomez, the Boeckmanns, Laura Ziskin, Larry King, Bill Bartholomay, legendary baseball scouts George Genovese, Dave Garcia, Hank King, Gene Bennett, Mel Didier, Epy Guerrero, Moose Johnson, Lenny Yochum, Ralph Avila, Stan Benajmin, Eddie Bockman, Joe DiCarlo, Tom Giordano, Al LaMacchia, Joe Lewis and the late Bob Zuk.

Past attendees include: MLB Commissioner Allan H. "Bud" Selig, Rod Carew, Tommy Lasorda, Arte Moreno, Jerry Reinsdorf, Lew Wolff, Mark Attanasio, Brady Anderson, Bret Saberhagen, Chase Utley, Darrell Evans, Don Newcombe, Barry Zito, Joe Borchard, Jerry West, Alyssa Milano, Don Johnson, Tom Arnold, Jane Seymour, James Keach, Michael McDonald, Donnie Most, Mary Hart and Kenny Loggins.

Tickets and sponsorship packages are available to the public by calling (818) 224-3906.

About the Professional Baseball Scouts Foundation

The Professional Baseball Scouts Foundation (PBSF) is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization that was established in 2003 to provide emergency resources through the awarding of grants to scouts (or their immediate family) whose circumstances have created a financial need.  We have been fortunate enough to help with such items as house and car payments, medical services including insurance, and daily living expenses up to and including funeral costs.  Our mission is to create a financial bridge for those scouts by generating funds through contributions so that the PBSF may continue to help them get back on their feet.

Read More: Boston Red Sox