Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Who's the cream of the crop on D? Find out tonight on MLBN

Great glovework will remain in the spotlight on Wednesday, when the winners of the 2014 Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Awards are announced live on MLB Network, starting at 6 p.m. ET.

Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners were unveiled on Tuesday night. While there is one of those for each position in both leagues, Wilson's honors work a little differently.

In this case, there is one individual winner and one team winner in both leagues, as determined by a formula that balances scouting information, sabermetric analysis and basic fielding statistics. Additionally, each of the 30 clubs has a player recognized as its top defender.

The Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Awards began in 2012. Last season's overall winners were Dustin Pedroia of the Red Sox in the American League and Gerardo Parra, then of the D-backs, in the National League. The D-backs also were the NL's team winner, while the Royals and Orioles tied in the AL.

Pedroia captured his fourth career Gold Glove on Tuesday, while the Royals and Orioles dominated with three trophies apiece. The Braves, Dodgers and Rockies all took home two in the NL.

Andrew Simon is a reporter for Follow him on Twitter @AndrewSimonMLB.