Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Andre Ethier and Clayton Kershaw named finalists for Rawlings Gold Glove Awards

Awards to be announced tomorrow at 6:00 p.m. PT live on ESPN2

LOS ANGELES – Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. a subsidiary of Jarden Corporation (NYSE: JAH), today announced that Andre Ethier and Clayton Kershaw are finalists for Gold Glove Awards at their respective positions, right field and pitcher. Both players won the award for the first time last season, when the Dodgers established a franchise record with three Rawlings Gold Glove winners, which included center fielder Matt Kemp. ESPN2 will air the 2012 Rawlings Gold Glove Award® Announcement Show on Tuesday, October 30, 2012, at 6:00 p.m. PT.  The Rawlings Gold Glove Awards honor the best individual fielding performances at each position in the American League™ and National League™, as voted by Major League managers and coaches.

Ethier, 30, ranked second among National League right fielders with a .988 fielding percentage, committing just three errors in 146 games (142 starts) in right field this season. Ethier’s streak of 282 games (276 starts) from July 10, 2010-July 25, 2012 without an error was the second-longest active run among non-pitchers in baseball behind only Franklin Gutierrez and the second-longest errorless run by a Dodger outfielder behind only Brett Butler’s 306-game run from 1992-94.

Kershaw, 24, completed his second consecutive errorless season and has not committed an error since Aug. 1, 2010, a span of 76 games. The Texas native led the Majors with 11 pickoffs and has either led or tied for the National League lead in pickoffs in each of the last three seasons since 2010.

Changes implemented into the award program last year remain for 2012, including the separation of the three outfield positions and the unveiling of the top-three finalists plus ties at each position.

A number of players are vying for the designation as the best defender at his position, including 21 past recipients and 11 reigning Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners.  The Cincinnati Reds™ lead all teams with six finalists, including reigning Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners Brandon Phillips and Joey Votto.  The battle for National League pitcher includes three former winners of the award: Cincinnati’s Bronson Arroyo (2010 NL winner), Miami’s Mark Buehrle (3-time AL winner with the Chicago White Sox™) and defending NL winner, Clayton Kershaw.

The longest, active consecutive streak of Rawlings Gold Glove Award wins belongs to St. Louis catcher Yadier Molina with four, beginning in 2008.

Each manager and up to six (6) coaches on his staff vote from a pool of qualified players in their League, and cannot vote for players on their own team.  The 2012 Rawlings Gold Glove Award finalists are:


            Pos       Player                          2012 Team     

            P          Jeremy Hellickson       Tampa Bay Rays™

                        Jake Peavy                   Chicago White Sox™

                        C.J. Wilson                  Los Angeles Angels™ of Anaheim

            C          Alex Avila                   Detroit Tigers™

                        Russell Martin              New York Yankees™

                        A.J. Pierzynski             Chicago White Sox™

                        Matt Wieters                Baltimore Orioles™

            1B        Adrian Gonzalez          Boston Red Sox™

                        Eric Hosmer                 Kansas City Royals™

                        Mark Teixeira              New York Yankees™

            2B        Dustin Ackley              Seattle Mariners™

                        Robinson Cano            New York Yankees™

                        Dustin Pedroia             Boston Red Sox™

            3B        Adrian Beltre               Texas Rangers™

                        Brandon Inge               Oakland Athletics™

                        Mike Moustakas          Kansas City Royals™

            SS        Elvis Andrus                Texas Rangers™

                        J.J. Hardy                    Baltimore Orioles™

                        Brendan Ryan              Seattle Mariners™

            LF        Alex Gordon                Kansas City Royals™

                        Desmond Jennings       Tampa Bay Rays™

                        David Murphy             Texas Rangers™

            CF        Austin Jackson            Detroit Tigers™

                        Adam Jones                 Baltimore Orioles™

                        Mike Trout                   Los Angeles Angels™ of Anaheim

            RF        Shin-Soo Choo            Cleveland Indians™

                        Jeff Francoeur             Kansas City Royals™

                        Josh Reddick               Oakland Athletics™


            Pos       Player                          2012 Team     

            P          Bronson Arroyo           Cincinnati Reds™

                        Mark Buehrle               Miami Marlins™

                        Clayton Kershaw         Los Angeles Dodgers™

            C          Yadier Molina              St. Louis Cardinals™

                        Miguel Montero           Arizona Diamondbacks™

                        Carlos Ruiz                  Philadelphia Phillies™

            1B        Freddie Freeman          Atlanta Braves™

                        Adam LaRoche            Washington Nationals™

                        Joey Votto                   Cincinnati Reds™

            2B        Darwin Barney            Chicago Cubs™

                        Aaron Hill                    Arizona Diamondbacks™

                        Brandon Phillips          Cincinnati Reds™

            3B        Chase Headley             San Diego Padres™

                        Aramis Ramirez           Milwaukee Brewers™

                        David Wright               New York Mets™

            SS        Zack Cozart                 Cincinnati Reds™

                        Ian Desmond               Washington Nationals™

                        Jose Reyes                   Miami Marlins™

                        Jimmy Rollins              Philadelphia Phillies™

            LF        Ryan Braun                 Milwaukee Brewers™

                        Carlos Gonzalez          Colorado Rockies™

                        Martin Prado                Atlanta Braves™

            CF        Michael Bourn             Atlanta Braves™

                        Andrew McCutchen     Pittsburgh Pirates™

                        Drew Stubbs                Cincinnati Reds™

            RF        Jay Bruce                     Cincinnati Reds™

                        Andre Ethier                Los Angeles Dodgers™

                        Jason Heyward            Atlanta Braves™

Following the ESPN2 announcement telecast, voting for the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award™ will begin at, allowing the general public to weigh in as to who is “The Finest in the Field®” in each League.  To determine the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners, fans can only select one player among the 2012 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners from each League.

The Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners will be unveiled during the 2012 Rawlings Gold Glove Award Ceremony presented by Gold Sport Collectibles on Friday, November 9, 2012, at The Plaza Hotel in New York City, with Jerry Seinfeld entertaining this year’s Rawlings Gold Glove Award recipients and key executives in the industry, and Joe Piscopo serving as the master of ceremonies.

Read More: Los Angeles Dodgers