MLBPAA announces team winners of 2016 Heart and Hustle Award

Award recognizes passion, desire and work ethic

July 19th, 2016

The Major League Baseball Players Alumni Association (MLBPAA) announced the 30 preliminary winners of the 2016 Heart and Hustle Award on Tuesday, honoring one player from each of the 30 Major League teams.

The Heart and Hustle Award, given annually, celebrates active players who demonstrate a passion for the game of baseball and best embody the values, spirit and traditions of the game. It's the only award in the Majors that is voted on by former players, and voting is conducted prior to the All-Star break.

The MLBPAA formed a total of 30 committees made up of former players to vote choose a winner for each team. Near season's end, all members of the alumni association, as well as active players, will vote once again to choose a final winner from the pool of the 30 preliminary team winners of the award. The criteria for the Heart and Hustle Award considers a player's passion, desire and work ethic demonstrated both on and off the field.

The final winner will be announced Nov. 15 at the 17th annual Legends for Youth Dinner in New York, an event that serves as a fundraiser for the series of free Legends for Youth Baseball Clinics held across the country. The list of previous overall winners includes David Eckstein (2005), Craig Biggio (2006, 2007), (2008), (2009), Roy Halladay (2010), Torii Hunter (2011), (2012), (2013), (2014) and (2015).

Here are this year's 30 preliminary team winners who will ultimately be considered for the final winner of the 2016 Heart and Hustle Award:


Baltimore Orioles:

Boston Red Sox:

Chicago White Sox:

Cleveland Indians:

Detroit Tigers:

Houston Astros:

Kansas City Royals:

Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim:

Minnesota Twins:

New York Yankees:

Oakland Athletics:

Seattle Mariners:

Tampa Bay Rays:

Texas Rangers:

Toronto Blue Jays:


Arizona Diamondbacks:

Atlanta Braves:

Chicago Cubs:

Cincinnati Reds:

Colorado Rockies:

Los Angeles Dodgers:

Miami Marlins:

Milwaukee Brewers:

New York Mets:

Philadelphia Phillies:

Pittsburgh Pirates:

San Diego Padres:

San Francisco Giants:

St. Louis Cardinals:

Washington Nationals: