Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

2012 All-Star Game Final Vote Sponsored by Firestone now under way

NEW YORK – American and National League All-Star Team managers Ron Washington and Tony La Russa, in conjunction with Major League Baseball, announced the candidates for the 2012 All-Star Game Final Vote Sponsored by Firestone (#FinalVote), which is held exclusively on, the official website of Major League Baseball, and the individual Club websites.


Last week, closed the 2012 All-Star Game Ballot in record-setting fashion with 391.2 million votes and 34.9 million ballots, setting the stage for the intense, four-day online-only voting for the two remaining All-Star roster spots among the following 10 players:


American League

Jonathan Broxton (KC) - #VoteBroxton (A1)

Yu Darvish (TEX) - #VoteYu (A2)

Ernesto Frieri (LAA) - #VoteFrieri (A3)

Jason Hammel (BAL) - #VoteHammel (A4)

Jake Peavy (CWS) - #TakeJake (A5)


National League

Michael Bourn (ATL) - #VoteBourn (N1)

David Freese (STL) - #FreesePlease (N2)

Bryce Harper (WAS) - #BryceIn12 (N3)

Aaron Hill (ARI) - #FinHillVote (N4)

Chipper Jones (ATL) - #VoteChipper (N5)


Fans began casting votes for the 2012 All-Star Game Final Vote Sponsored by Firestone on and the Club sites immediately following today's MLB All-Star Selection Show presented by Taco Bell on TBS and can continue voting until balloting concludes at 4 p.m. (EDT) on Thursday, July 5. The winners, as chosen exclusively by online fan voting totals, will be announced on shortly thereafter.


In addition to the web, fans can use their mobile phones to cast votes via the mobile web at or via text message. To receive the 2012 All-Star Game Final Vote Sponsored by Firestone mobile ballot, text the word "VOTE" to 89269. To vote for a specific player, fans can text the choice to 89269. EXAMPLE: Text "A3" to vote for AL Player 3 or "N3" to vote for NL Player 3. Msg&Data Rates May Apply. Mobile voting in Canada also is available and fans should text their choices to 101010. Std rates may apply.



Baseball fans have cast over 300 million online votes since the All-Star Game Final Vote program’s inception in 2002. In recognition of this milepost, is giving eligible voters a 14-day free trial of MLB.TV from July 6-20, 2012. Fans will receive an e-mail notifying them of the instructions for redeeming this All-Star Final Vote offer.


The 83rd All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX Sports; in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and RDS; and worldwide by partners in more than 200 countries via MLB International’s independent feed.  Pregame ceremonies will begin at 7:30 p.m. (EDT)/6:30 p.m. (CDT).  ESPN Radio and ESPN Radio Deportes will provide exclusive national radio coverage of the All-Star Game.  MLB Network, and Sirius XM also will provide comprehensive All-Star Week coverage.  For more information, please visit or


# # #


Contact: Matthew Gould, (212) 485-8959, Cell: (908) 892-3143, [email protected]


ALL-TIME FINAL VOTE CANDIDATE LISTING (* - winner) American League Jeremy Bonderman (2007) Eric Byrnes (2003) Eric Chavez (2002) Carl Crawford (2005) Johnny Damon (2002*) Jermaine Dye (2008) Darin Erstad (2002) Kelvim Escobar (2007) Chone Figgins (2009) Lew Ford (2004) Jason Giambi (2003, 2008) Alex Gordon (2011) Jose Guillen (2008) Travis Hafner (2004, 2006) Roy Halladay (2007) Ramon Hernandez (2006) Torii Hunter (2005) Brandon Inge (2009*) Derek Jeter (2005) Adam Jones (2011) Ian Kinsler (2009) Paul Konerko (2004, 2010, 2011*) Adam Lind (2009) Francisco Liriano (2006) Evan Longoria (2008*) Victor Martinez (2011) Hideki Matsui (2004*, 2005) Bengie Molina (2003) Pat Neshek (2007) Hideki Okajima (2007*) Magglio Ordonez (2002) Carlos Pena (2009) A.J. Pierzynski (2006*) Scott Podsednik (2005*) Brian Roberts (2008) Nick Swisher (2010*) Frank Thomas (2003, 2004) Jim Thome (2002) Jason Varitek (2003*) Justin Verlander (2006) Kevin Youkilis (2010) Delmon Young (2010) Michael Young (2010) Ben Zobrist (2011)


National League

Bobby Abreu (2004*, 2006)

Heath Bell (2010)

Pat Burrell (2008)

Orlando Cabrera (2003)

Chris Capuano (2006)

Luis Castillo (2003)

Andre Ethier (2011)

Steve Finley (2004)

Nomar Garciaparra (2006*)

Brian Giles (2002)

Carlos Gonzalez (2010)

Tom Gorzelanny (2007)

Cristian Guzman (2009)

Corey Hart (2008*)

Todd Helton (2011)

Trevor Hoffman (2005)

Geoff Jenkins (2003*)

Andruw Jones (2002*)

Matt Kemp (2009)

Jason Kendall (2004)

Ian Kennedy (2011)

Ryan Klesko (2002)

Carlos Lee (2008)

Kenny Lofton (2003)

Mike Morse (2011)

Brett Myers (2005)

Roy Oswalt (2005*, 2007)

Corey Patterson (2003)

Juan Pierre (2004)

Albert Pujols (2002)

Aramis Ramirez (2004)

Mark Reynolds (2009)

Aaron Rowand (2008)

Pablo Sandoval (2009)

Benito Santiago (2003)

Shane Victorino (2009*, 2011*)

Joey Votto (2010*)

Billy Wagner (2005, 2006, 2010)

Larry Walker (2002)

Brandon Webb (2005, 2007)

David Wright (2008)

Chris Young (2006, 2007*)

Carlos Zambrano (2007)

Ryan Zimmerman (2010)