Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Frick Award field to be narrowed to 10 finalists

Fans can vote for their favorite broadcasters on Facebook through Oct. 9

Round 1 of fan voting for the 2013 Ford C. Frick Award is over, and those same baseball aficionados now have a chance to select three broadcasters from a group of 41 nominees already picked online.

The field for the prestigious award sponsored by the National Baseball Hall of Fame will be narrowed to 10 finalists -- three from the pool of 41 names and another seven selected by a Hall of Fame committee.

Round 2 of voting for this group of 41 began on Monday, and fans can continue to make their selections until Oct. 5 at The final ballot, which will be released Oct. 9, will include all 10 nominees, with the winner announced during the Winter Meetings on Dec. 3-6 in Nashville, Tenn.

The award, given annually since 1978 to a broadcaster with a long career of excellent service announcing Major League Baseball, was won this year by FOX broadcaster and former big league catcher Tim McCarver.

The list of 41 consists of: Joe Angel, Richie Ashburn, Alan Ashby, Bert Blyleven, Lou Boudreau, Thom Brennaman, Rodger Brulotte, Joe Buck, Steve Busby, Skip Caray, Joe Castiglione, Tom Cheek, Don Chevrier, Gary Cohen, Jerry Doggett, Jacques Doucet, Dick Enberg, Ed Farmer, Ray Fosse, Hank Greenwald, Tom Grieve, Tom Hamilton, Ken Harrelson, Mark Holtz, Pat Hughes, Jim Hunter, Todd Kalas, Bill King, Mike Krukow, Duane Kuiper, Eric Nadel, Joe Nuxhall, Phil Rizzuto, Ron Santo, Mike Shannon, Charlie Slowes, Dewayne Staats, Steve Stone, Pete Van Wieren, Mike Wilner and Bert Wilson.

Voting in the fan finals begins with a clean slate for each candidate, because vote totals do not carry over from Round 1. Bios of each eligible candidate will appear at throughout the voting.

The 21-member electorate, comprised of the 16 living Frick Award recipients and five broadcast historians/columnists, includes Frick honorees Marty Brennaman, Jerry Coleman, Gene Elston, Joe Garagiola, Jaime Jarrin, Milo Hamilton, Tony Kubek, Denny Matthews, McCarver, Jon Miller, Felo Ramirez, Vin Scully, Lon Simmons, Bob Uecker, Dave Van Horne and Bob Wolff, and historians/columnists Bob Costas (NBC), Barry Horn (Dallas Morning News), Stan Isaacs (formerly of NY Newsday), Ted Patterson (historian) and Curt Smith (historian).

Frick Award voters consider a number of criteria, including longevity, continuity with a club, honors, national assignments such as the World Series and All-Star Games, and popularity with fans.

To be considered, an active or retired broadcaster must have a minimum of 10 years of continuous Major League broadcast service with a club, network or a combination of the two.

The winner will be honored at the Hall of Fame's awards presentation on July 27 at Doubleday Field in Cooperstown, N.Y. The induction ceremony for any new electees to the Hall is slated for July 28 in a field adjacent to the Clark Sports Center.

Barry M. Bloom is national reporter for and writes an MLBlog, Boomskie on Baseball. Follow @boomskie on Twitter.