Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

All-Star Game umpires, official scorers announced

Longtime Major League umpire John Hirschbeck will serve as the crew chief for Major League Baseball's 84th All-Star Game on Tuesday at Citi Field.

Hirschbeck, in his 30th year of Major League service, will be at his third Midsummer Classic after previously working the 1989 and 2004 All-Star Games. It is the first time Hirschbeck, who will serve as home-plate umpire, will chief the All-Star Game.

Wally Bell (first base), Larry Vanover (second base), Paul Emmel (third base), Rob Drake (left field) and Chad Fairchild (right field) will join Hirschbeck in New York. This year's contest marks the third All-Star Game for Bell (1997, 2000), the second for Vanover (1999) and Emmel (2002) and the first for Drake and Fairchild.

The official scorers for the 2013 All-Star Game will be longtime New York-based scorers Jordan Sprechman and Howie Karpin, along with the San Francisco Chronicle's Susan Slusser, the president of the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

In addition, MLB also announced the umpiring crew for the SiriusXM All-Star Futures Game on Sunday: Pat Hoberg (home plate) of the Pacific Coast League, Gabe Morales (first base) of the International League, Ryan Goodman (second base) of the Southern League and Nic Lentz (third base) of the Eastern League. Those four also will work the Chevrolet Home Run Derby on Gatorade All-Star Workout Day on Monday, while Goodman and Lentz also will work Sunday's Taco Bell All-Star Legends and Celebrity Softball Game.

The 84th All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX Sports, in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and RDS, and worldwide by partners in more than 200 countries via MLB International's independent feed. ESPN Radio and ESPN Radio Deportes will provide national radio coverage of the All-Star Game. MLB Network and SiriusXM also will also provide comprehensive All-Star Week coverage.

Cash Kruth is a reporter for Follow him on Twitter at @cashkruth.