Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Ausmus checks review, says call was correct

BALTIMORE -- Brad Ausmus has not been ejected from a game as Tigers manager. Monday was about as close as he has come.

He looked heated as he argued with James Hoye over the interference call that led to an inning-ending double play in the seventh inning of what was then a 2-1 game. It wasn't until Ausmus saw the replay that he realized his hitter, Nick Castellanos, was indeed over the plate when O's catcher Steve Clevenger tried to throw.

The way the rule is worded, that's all the umpire needs to make the call.

"Nick stepped across the plate," Ausmus said. "And if you step across the plate, you're getting into the catcher's way. That's clearly the line the catcher takes to throw the ball. It just looked awkward from the side because [Clevenger] kind of double pumped. It almost looked like he tried to go into Nick, but I couldn't tell that Nick had crossed over."

The rule is 7.09(d), and it has come into play three times in Tigers games already this season, including the game-ending double play on April 24 against the White Sox with Jose Abreu at the plate and Adam Dunn on deck.

Included under the terms of batter interference, the rule reads, is "any batter or runner who has just been put out, or any runner who has just scored, hinders or impedes any following play being made on a runner. Such runner shall be declared out for the interference of his teammate."

Jason Beck is a reporter for Read Beck's Blog and follow him on Twitter @beckjason.
Read More: Detroit Tigers