Gonzalez ejected after arguing call on bunt
ST. LOUIS -- Braves manager Fredi Gonzalez was ejected in the top of the fifth during Saturday's game against the Cardinals.
Gonzalez was ejected by home-plate umpire Ron Kulpa. Gonzalez came out to argue a double play called on Aaron Harang's bunt attempt.
With Andrelton Simmons on second with a leadoff double, Harang attempted to bunt him to third. Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina quickly pounced on the ball and threw out Simmons at third. Harang, who never left the batter's box, was then thrown out at first in a 2-6-4 double play.
"It's a tough call when you've got to make a call that way," Gonzalez said. "It was close, but I thought maybe five, six inches foul when Yadi got it. It's a tough job. It's a tough situation. They've got to make the call, there's no help really and that's what I kept asking, 'Can we get some help from one of the guys down the line?' What are you going to do? We still only scored one run. That would have been a nice opportunity to try it again to try and advance the runner there with Harang, but it didn't materialize."
Gonzalez argued that the bunt attempt was foul, which cannot be reviewed under Major League Baseball guidelines.
Harang thought it was foul and protested the call as well.
"I said a few things," Harang said. "Yadi almost ran into me and I had to jump out of the way. It is what it is and you can't do anything about it now. You just have to move forward."
It was the first time Gonzalez has been tossed from a game this season.