Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Kershaw, Trout honored as LA's top sportsmen

Angels outfielder Mike Trout and Dodgers pitcher Clayton Kershaw on Wednesday were named as the Los Angeles Sports Council's 2014 Sportsmen of the Year.

Trout and Kershaw, who won their respective league's Most Valuable Player Award, will be honored during the 10th Annual L.A. Sports Awards on March 15 at The Beverly Hilton Hotel.

The L.A. Sports Awards are presented annually to celebrate the year's greatest moments in sports in the Los Angeles and Orange County area. The dinner and gala will be televised by Fox Sports West/Prime Ticket, with the time to be announced.

Trout won his first MVP Award in 2014 in unanimous fashion after hitting 36 home runs and leading the American League in runs and RBIs, while Kershaw went 21-3 with a 1.77 ERA to win his third National League Cy Young Award, in addition to being named the NL MVP Award winner.

Kershaw, who was named the Los Angeles Sports Council's 2011 Sportsman of the Year, is the first two-time winner of the award.

Cash Kruth is a reporter for Follow him on Twitter at @cashkruth.
Read More: Clayton Kershaw, Mike Trout