Interference call helps Rockies turn three
Baserunning ruling completes third triple play in franchise history
DENVER -- The Rockies executed the third triple play in their history during Sunday's 8-6 victory, but with a twist: an interference call on Padres runner Seth Smith helped them complete it.
Colorado led, 1-0, with runners at first and second in the top of the third inning when Carlos Quentin grounded hard to Rockies third baseman Nolan Arenado, who stepped on third to force out Everth Cabrera. Arenado then fired to second baseman DJ LeMahieu, who relayed to first baseman Justin Morneau. Quentin beat the throw, but Smith, who had been forced out at second, was ruled to have left the basepath to the inside in an attempt to break up the play, resulting in Quentin being out.
It was the Rockies' first triple play since shortstop Troy Tulowitzki turned an unassisted one on April 29, 2007, against the Braves. The Rockies' first triple play was April 10, 2003, against the Cardinals.
Both of those triple plays also occurred at Coors Field.
It was the first time the Padres have hit into a triple play since April 15, 2012, on the road against the Dodgers.