Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

D-backs' 2001 title trio headline early Franchise Four leaderboard

PHOENIX -- Major League Baseball on Wednesday announced the current leaders of the "Franchise Four" campaign, which allows fans to vote for the most impactful players who best represent each Major League franchise.

The D-backs don't have quite so long a history as most teams, but that doesn't make their choices any easier.

The current leaders for the D-backs are: Randy Johnson, Luis Gonzalez, Curt Schilling and Paul Goldschmidt -- in that order.

Other players who have received votes are Steve Finley, Mark Grace, Brandon Webb and Matt Williams.

Fans have cast 11.8 million votes in the Franchise Four voting, and you can cast your ballot here. Voting ends on May 8, and winners from all 30 clubs will be announced at the 2015 All-Star Game, which will take place on July 14 at Great American Ball Park in Cincinnati.

Steve Gilbert is a reporter for Read his blog, Inside the D-backs, and follow him on Twitter @SteveGilbertMLB.
Read More: Arizona Diamondbacks, Paul Goldschmidt