Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Zimmermann, Souza highlight Nats' GIBBY nominations

Duo teamed up on no-hitter; Rendon, Roark represent 'Breakout' stars

WASHINGTON -- The Nationals won their second National League East title in three years, and several members of the organization have a chance to take home an 2014 Greatness in Baseball Yearly (GIBBY) Award.

Relievers Drew Storen and Tyler Clippard are nominees for the Setup Man award, while Anthony Rendon and Tanner Roark could be named Breakout Hitter and Breakout Pitcher, respectively.

Matt Williams, who completed his first year as a big league skipper, is up for Manager of the Year, while Steven Souza Jr. is up for Play of the Year. Souza made a spectacular catch in the ninth inning to save Jordan Zimmermann's no-hitter.

Zimmermann is a nominee for best Pitching Performance. It was Sept. 28, the last day of the regular season, and Zimmermann gave the fans a thrill at Nationals Park during a 1-0 victory over the Marlins to become the first pitcher in Nats history to throw a no-hitter.

Jose Lobaton was nominated for the Oddity award, as the backup catcher had a foul ball off the bat of Brewers center fielder Carlos Gomez get stuck in his mask.

Denard Span was nominated in the Walk-Off category, though he didn't hit a home run. On Aug. 21 against the D-backs, Span scored the game-winning run on an error by third baseman Jordan Pacheco. It was Washington's fifth walk-off victory in its last six games. According to Elias Sports Bureau, the last team to accomplish that feat was the Astros from July 19-24, 1986.

Finally, the Jayson Werth bobblehead -- The "Rally Gnome" -- was a nominee in the Cut4 category.

Major League Baseball's A-listers will take home 2014 GIBBY trophies -- the ultimate honors of the industry's awards season -- based on votes by media, front-office personnel, MLB alumni, fans at and the Society for American Baseball Research.

This year's GIBBY Awards feature nominees in 25 categories. Individual honors will go to the MLB MVP, in addition to the year's best starting pitcher, hitter, closer, setup man, rookie, breakout hitter, breakout pitcher, bounceback player, defensive player, manager, executive and postseason performer.

GIBBY trophies also will be awarded for the year's top regular-season play, outfield throw, storyline, hitting performance, pitching performance, oddity, walk-off, Cut4 topic, regular-season moment, postseason storyline, postseason walk-off and postseason play. Fans can watch these and more by accessing's Must C highlight reels.

In the past several seasons, fans have cast millions of votes across the GIBBY categories, none of which is restricted to individual league affiliation. That's how you know the GIBBYs consider the best of the best.

All 30 clubs are represented among the award candidates, a fact many consider to be a testament to the competitive balance around the game.

Fans can vote as many times as they want through Nov. 21 at 11:59 p.m. ET by visiting, and winners will be announced live on the MLB Network and on Dec. 6.

Several categories -- Play, Oddity, Walk-Off and Cut4 Topic -- opened balloting with at least one nominee per club. After a week of voting, the four lists were trimmed to 10 finalists per group by a panel.

Bill Ladson is a reporter for and writes an MLBlog, All Nats All the Time. He also can be found on Twitter @WashingNats.
Read More: Washington Nationals, Jose Lobaton, Steven Souza Jr., Anthony Rendon, Denard Span, Jayson Werth, Tanner Roark, Jordan Zimmermann, Drew Storen, Tyler Clippard