Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Longoria, Hart win fan voting for final 2008 All-Star Roster spots

Fans cast 47.8 million votes over four days in Monster All-Star Game Final Vote program

NEW YORK -- Tampa Bay Rays rookie third baseman Evan Longoria andMilwaukee Brewers outfielder Corey Hart were chosen by fans as the winners of the Monster 2008All-Star Game Final Vote in record-shattering voting exclusively on, the official websiteof Major League Baseball.

Baseball fans supported the 10 candidates named by All-Star managers Terry Francona and ClintHurdle in unprecedented fashion by casting a record 47.8 million votes since the programcommenced on Sunday, July 6 at 3:00 p.m. (EDT). This year's record number of votes representsan increase of 107 percent from the previous mark of 23.1 million set in 2007. Since its inception in2002, the Monster All-Star Game Final Vote has now recorded nearly 130 million votes.

The American League winner, Longoria, received the highest total number of votes ever and led allvote-getters with nine million en route to becoming the second consecutive rookie to win theballoting, following Boston's Hideki Okajima last year. He was followed by Jermaine Dye of theChicago White Sox; Jason Giambi of the New York Yankees; Brian Roberts of the BaltimoreOrioles; and Jose Guillen of the Kansas City Royals.

On the National League ballot, Hart became the second Milwaukee player to win the Monster All-Star Game Final Vote by holding off a late charge from David Wright of the New York Mets toclaim the final spot on the National League All-Star roster with a final tally of eight million votes.Hart and Wright were followed by Pat Burrell of the Philadelphia Phillies; Aaron Rowand of theSan Francisco Giants; and Carlos Lee of the Houston Astros.

Previous winners of the Monster All-Star Game Final Vote include: Okajima (AL, 2007); ChrisYoung (NL, 2007); A.J. Pierzynski (AL, 2006); Nomar Garciaparra (NL, 2006); Scott Podsednik(AL, 2005); Roy Oswalt (NL, 2005); Hideki Matsui (AL, 2004); Bobby Abreu (NL, 2004); JasonVaritek (AL, 2003); Geoff Jenkins (NL, 2003); Johnny Damon (AL, 2002); and Andruw Jones(NL, 2002).