Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Cruz, Jones among O's GIBBY nominees

BALTIMORE -- The Orioles were nominated for a slew of's 2014 Greatness in Baseball Yearly (GIBBY) awards, an honor that's not surprising given Baltimore's successful season that saw the organization win the American League East and advance to the AL Championship Series for the first time since 1997.

Orioles executive vice president of baseball operations Dan Duquette (Executive of the Year), Buck Showalter (Manager), Nelson Cruz (Hitter), Adam Jones (Play), J.J. Hardy (Defensive Player), Zach Britton (Closer, Breakout Pitcher), Andrew Miller (Setup Man) and Darren O'Day (Setup Man) are among the nominees who will be competing against baseball's best.

Major League Baseball's A-listers will take home 2014 GIBBY trophies -- the ultimate honors of the industry's awards season -- based on votes by media, front-office personnel, MLB alumni and fans at and the Society for American Baseball Research.

This year's GIBBY Awards feature nominees in 25 categories. Individual honors will go to the MLB MVP, in addition to the year's best starting pitcher, hitter, closer, setup man, rookie, breakout hitter, breakout pitcher, bounceback player, defensive player, manager, executive and postseason performer.

GIBBY trophies also will be awarded for the year's top regular-season play, outfield throw, storyline, hitting performance, pitching performance, oddity, walk-off, Cut4 topic, regular-season moment, postseason storyline, postseason walk-off and postseason play. Fans can watch these and more by accessing's Must C highlight reels.

In the past several seasons, fans have cast millions of votes across the GIBBY categories, none of which is restricted to individual league affiliation. That's how you know the GIBBYs consider the best of the best.

All 30 clubs are represented among the award candidates, a fact many consider to be a testament to the competitive balance around the game.

Fans can vote as many times as they want through Nov. 21 at 11:59 p.m. ET by visiting, and winners will be announced live on the MLB Network and on Dec. 6.

Several categories -- Play, Oddity, Walk-Off and Cut4 Topic -- opened balloting with at least one nominee per club. After a week of voting, the four lists were trimmed to 10 finalists per group by a panel.

Brittany Ghiroli is a reporter for Read her blog, Britt's Bird Watch, and follow her on Facebook and Twitter @britt_ghiroli.
Read More: Baltimore Orioles